Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » National
Asaduddin Owaisi wins from Hyderabad by a margin of 1,97,000 votes
Friday May 16, 2014 10:48 PM, IANS

Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) chief Asaduddin Owaisi scored a hat-trick by retaining Hyderabad Lok Sabha seat.

Asad Owaisi

Owaisi won the election by a huge margin of 1,97,000 votes.

He defeated his nearest rival Bhagvanth Rao of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) by a margin of nearly two lakh votes.

The MIM has been winning the prestigious seat for three decades. Asaduddin Owaisi's father Sultan Salahuddin Owaisi was elected from here for six times since 1984.

Asaduddin Owaisi bagged the seat in 2004 and 2009.

The MIM also retained seven assembly seats in Hyderabad. The prominent winners include Asaduddin Owaisi's younger brother Akbaruddin Owaisi, who was elected from Chandrayangutta for the fourth consecutive term.

Other prominent winners are:
* Narendra Modi (BJP/Vadodra; takes unassailable lead in Varanasi)

* Sonia Gandhi (Congress/Rae Bareli)

* Murli Manohar Joshi (BJP/Kanpur)

* Railway Minister Mallikarjun Kharge (Congress/Gulbarga- SC)

* Minister for Petroleum and Natural Gas M. Veerappa Moily (Congress/Chikkballabpur)

* Union Minisgter Kamal Nath (Congress/Chindwara)

* Minister of State for Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises K.H.A. Muniyappa (Congress/Kolar-SC)

* Minister of State for Labour Kodikunnil Suresh (Congress/Mavelikara)

* Minister of State for Civil Aviation K.C. Venugopal (Congres/Alappuzha)

* Minister of State for Food, Public Distribution, Consumer Affairs Minister (independent charge) K.V. Thomas (Congress/Ernakulam)

* Minister of State for Home Mulapally Ramachandran (Congress/Vadakara)

* Minister of State for Human Resource Development Shashi Tharoor (Congress/Thiravananthapuram)

* Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio (Naga Poeples Front/Kohima)

* Ram Vilas Paswan (Lok Janshakti Party/Hajipur)

* Chirag Paswan (Lok Janshakti Party/Jamui)

* Moon Moon Sen (Trinamool Congress/Bankura)

* Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose's grandnephew Sugata Bose (Trinamool Congress/Jadavpur)

* Hema Malini (BJP/Mathura)

* Surinder Singh Ahluwalia (BJP/Darjeeling)

* Former railway minister Dinesh Trivedi (Trinamool Congress/Barrackpore)

* Former Karnataka chief minister D.V. Sadananda Gowda (BJP/Bangalore North)

* President Pranab Mukherjee's son Abhijit (Congress/Jangipur)

* Shatrughan Sinha (BJP/Patna Sahib)

* Kirron Kher (BJP/Chandigarh)

* Bengal matinee idol Dev (Trinamool Congress/Ghatal)

* K. Chandrasekhara Rao (TRS/Medak)

Former Jammu and Kashmir deputy chief minister Muzaffar Hussain Baig (PDP/Baramulla)

* Mehbooba Mufti (PDP/Anantnag)

* Bollywood singer Babul Supriyo (BJP/Asansol)

*Comedian Innocent (Left-backed Independent/ Chalakudy)

* Dushyant Singh, son of Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje (BJP/Jhalwar-Baran)

* Thupstan Chhewang (BJP/Ladakh - 37 votes.

* Actor-comedian Bhagwant Mann (AAP/Sangrur)

* Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar (Congress/Sasaram)

* Civil Aviation Minister Ajit Singh (RLD/Baghpat)

* Coal Minister Sriprakash Jaiswal (Congress/Kanpur)

* Health Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad (Congress/Udhampur)

* Minister for New and Renewable Energy Farooq Abdullah (National Conference/Srinagar)

* Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office V. Narayanasamy (Congress/Puducherry)

* Union minister Sachin Pilot (Congress/Ajmer)

* Union minister Girja Vyas (Congress/Chittorgarh)

* Union minister Bhanwar Jitendra Singh (Congress/Alwar)

Union minister Chandresh Kumari (Congress/Jodhpur)

*Former India cricket captain Mohd. Azharuddin (Congress/Tonk-Sawai Madhopur)

* Former Railway Minister Pawan Kumar Bansal (Congress/Chandigarh)

*Former telecom ministerm A. Raja (DMK/Nilgiris)

* Nine-time MP Basudeb Acharia (CPI-M/Bankura)

* Arun Jaitley (BJP/ Amritsar)

* Bhaichung Bhutia (Trinamool Congress/Darjeeling)

* Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh's wife and incumbent MP (Congress/Mandi)

* Sharad Yadav (Janata Dal-United/Madhepura)

* Expelled BJP leader Jaswant Singh (Independent/Barmer)

* Former Bihar chief minister Rabri Devi (RJD/Saran)

* Filmmaker Prakash Jha (Janata Dal-United/West Champaran)

* Actor Rakhi Sawant (Independent/Mumbai Northwest-Sixth)

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.