Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
MIM wins 'dress war', Shiv Sena Mayor elections in Aurangabad
Thursday April 30, 2015 9:52 AM, News Network

[MIM Corporators in Hyderabaid Sherwani and Muslim scarf.]

Even as the Shiv-Sena BJP alliance won the Mayor and Deputy Mayor elections held Wednesday retaining the power in Aurangabad Municipal Corporation (AMC), it was the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) corporators who were 'talk of the town' becuase of their 'dress code'.

The 25 MIM corporators were the first to arrive at the AMC. The male members of the MIM were attired in typical Hyderabadi sherwanis whereas the Muslim woman corporators were sporting scarf and Hijab.

A little while later, the Shiv Sena group sporting saffron color headgears and shouting slogans reached the venue of election. Then entered the BJP group quietly and headed straight toward the hall. They were followed by Congress-NCP group of 13 corporators.

In response to the continued slogan shouting of Shiv Sena corporators, the MIM corporators too indulged in sloganeering, and replied 'Jai Bhawani Jai Shivaji' with 'Allah-o-Akbar'.

Interestingly, the 'Saffron headgears' and slogan shouting were introduced in Maharashtra politics ever since the Shiv Sena entered into the state politics. The MIM however by challenging the saffron alliance even on this front has shwon in which direction the Aurangabad politics will move from now on.

Amid this drama, the mayor election began exactly at 11:45 a.m. Shiv Sena's mayoral candidate Trimbak Tupe received 71 votes whereas the MIM nominee Gangadhar Dhage polled 26 votes. Congress-NCP's Afsar Khan received just 13 votes. One corporator remained absent while two BSP members, Rahul Sonwane and Sunita Chavan, did not vote.

In Deputy Mayor elections, BJP nominee Pramod Rathod received 70 votes. MIM nominee for the deputy mayor's post Feroz Khan bagged 26 votes, while Congress' Bhausaheb Jagtap received 13 votes in the election.

Independent candidate Khatija Qureshi voted for the Sena mayoral candidate but left without casting her vote for Rathod.

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of