Follow us on Facebook | Share on Twitter | Subscribe to RSS Feed
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
Bari Siddiqui, Dr. Gafoor, Khursheed and Jaleel Mastan take oath as ministers in Nitish Kumar cabinet
Friday November 20, 2015 10:19 PM, News Network

Tej Pratap Yadav
[Tej Pratap Yadav, Lalu Prasad Tadav's son and MLA from Mahua taking oath as minister in Nitish Kumar's cabinet.]

Abdul Bari Siddiqui and Dr. Abdul Gafoor, both MLAs belonging to the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Janata Dal (U) MLA from Sikta Khurdsheed Afroz Alam and Congress legislator from Amour Abdul Jaleel Mastan on Friday took oath as ministers in Nitish Kumar's 28-member cabinet.

Janata Dal-United (JD-U) leader Nitish Kumar, who led the Grand Alliance to victory in the assembly elections was first to take oath as the chief minister of Bihar for the fifth time, with over two lakh people and chief ministers from 09 Indian states watching.

Overseen by Governor Ram Nath Kovind, Nitish Kumar took the oath of office and secrecy in the name of God in Hindi at the sprawling Gandhi Maidan.

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Lalu Prasad's sons Tejaswi Yadav and Tej Pratap Yadav then took oath as ministers. Tejaswi Yadav will be Nitish Kumar's deputy in the cabinet.

The names of Abdul Bari Siddiqui and Lalu Prasad Yadav's daughter Meesa Bharti were taking the rounds in political circle for the post of Deputy CM. Tejaswi Yadav however won the race for the post.

Besides Nitish Kumar, 12 legislators each of the RJD and JD-U and four from the Congress were sworn in as ministers. Lalu Prasad's sons earned the loudest cheers after the chief minister from the boisterous crowd.

Manju Varma, Madan Sahni, Shailesh Kumar and Kapildeo Kamat are other JD (U) MLAs who have been given ministerial berths.

Other ministers from the RJD are Vijay Prakash, Chandrika Rai, Mundrika Singh Yadav, Santosh Nirala, Ram Vichar Rai and Sheo Chander Ram.

Bihar Congress Chief Ashok Choudhary, Madan Mohan Jha and Awdesh Kumar Singh have also taken oath as ministers in the Nitish Kumar's cabinet.

A staggering 200,000 people, including eight chief ministers and a galaxy of national leaders ranged against the BJP, attended the swearing-in ceremony of Nitish Kumar as Bihar's chief minister for a fifth term in office here.

Unprecedented security cover has been put in place in Bihar capital for the swearing-in ceremony of Nitish Kumar, who will head the first JD-U-RJD-Congress coalition to rule Bihar.

Bihar Police chief P.K. Thakur told the media that security cover is unprecedented in view of a number of political leaders across the country attending the function. "We are taking no chances due to threat perception to several leaders."

According to police officials, many leaders having Z plus and Z cover security are attending the oath-taking ceremony, including Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi.

Besides the elite security agencies like Special Protection Group (SPG), personnel of central para-military security forces and state police have been deployed.

"More than 3,000 additional security personnel including 30 DSPs and SP rank officers have been deployed in Gandhi Maidan to manage the two lakh crowd gathered here for the show," Patna Senior Superintendent of Police Vikas Vaibhav said.

He said 20 watch towers have been set up and 40 CCTV cameras installed in and around the venue.

A senior police official told IANS that a team of intelligence officials and SPG personnel has been deployed to keep a close watch during the function. "Bomb detection and disposal squads along with dog squads are carrying regular checks of the site."

With Prime Minister Narendra Modi declining to attend the event, he and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which badly lost the Bihar assembly polls, was represented by party leaders and central ministers M. Venkaiah Naidu and Rajiv Pratap Rudy.

The ceremony is attended by nine chief ministers, Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi, Nationalist Congress Party president Sharad Pawar, former prime minister H.D. Deve Gowda and leaders of several other political parties.

The chief ministers are Mamata Banerjee (West Bengal), Arvind Kejriwal (Delhi), Tarun Gogoi (Assam), P.K. Chamling (Sikkim), O. Ibobi Singh (Manipur), Nabam Tuki (Arunachal Pradesh), Virbhadra Singh (Himachal Pradesh), and S. Siddaramaiah (Karnataka).

Other political veterans who joined in include CPI-M general secreatry Sitaram Yechury, CPI's D. Raja, Indian National Lok Dal's Abhay Chautala, DMK's M.K. Stalin and National Conference president Farooq Abdullah.

Former chief ministers Omar Abdullah (Jammu and Kashmir), Sheila Dikshit (Delhi), Bhupinder Hooda (Haryana), Shankarsinh Vaghela (Gujarat), Babulal Marandi and Hemant Soren (Jharkhand) and Ajit Jogi (Chhattisgarh) were also present for the ceremony.

The Grand Alliance of Nitish Kumar swept 178 of the 243 Bihar assembly seats, leaving 53 to the BJP and five to its three allies in an election outcome that Lalu Prasad said would have major political repercussion.

The RJD is the single largest party in the house with 80 seats followed by the JD-U (71) and the Congress (27 seats). There will be 16 RJD ministers, 15 from the JD-U and five from the Congress in the government. Lalu Prasad's younger son Tejaswi Yadav is expected to get a plum post.

Supporters of the JD-U, RJD and Congress from across Bihar are pouring in at the Gandhi Maidan. Hundreds of security personnel are geared to protect the venue and the VVIPs.

JD-U state president Vashisht Narain Singh told the media that it was the first time such a large number of top politicians would attend the oath-taking of Nitish Kumar.

"Such a thing has never happened. It is the beginning of opposition unity in the country," he said.

Friday's gathering was the first major show of anti-BJP unity since Modi became the prime minister in May 2014.

Also among the guests were B.R. Ambedkar's grandson Prakash Ambedkar and Supreme court lawyer Ram Jethmalani, who along with Mamata Banerjee and Kejriwal repeatedly urged voters in Bihar to defeat the BJP.

Here is the complete list of the Nitish ministry:

JD (U)
Nitish Kumar
Rajiv Ranjan Singh Lallan
Bijendra Prasad Yadav
Shrawan Kumar
Jay Kumar Singh
Maheshwar Hazari
Krishna Nandan Prasad Verma,
Santosh Nirala
Khursheed Afroz Alam
Shailesh Kumar,
Kumari Manju Varma
Madan Sahni
Kapildeo Kamat

Tej Pratap
Abdul Bari Siddiqui
Abdul Gafoor
Vijay Prakash
Chandrika Rai
Alok Kumar Mehta
Ram Vichar Rai
Sheo Chander Ram
Muneshwar Chaudhary
Anita Devi

Ashok Choudhary
Madan Mohan Jha
Abdul Jalil Mastan
Awdesh Kumar Singh


Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of