Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Owaisi's MIM ends 02 short of its earlier tally in Hyderabad Municipal Corporation elections
Friday February 5, 2016 10:36 PM, News Network

Asaduddin Owaisi led All India Majlise-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) struggled to maintain its earlier tally in the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) polls while Telangana's ruling TRS sweeps the poll, final results after vote count showed on Friday.

The AIMIM, which had 43 corporators in the last house and shared power with the Congress, has won 41 seats - 02 short of its earlier tally in the 150-member house.

The AIMIM won Dabeerpura, Akbarbagh, Erragadda, Moghalpura, Shahalibanda, Lalithabagh, Jambagh, Azampura, Barkas, Chandrayangutta, Riyasatnagar, Shashtripuram, Malakpet, Sulemannagar, Doodhbowli, Karwan, Nawab Sahab Kunta, Dattatrya colony, Mallepally, Red Hills, Ahmed Nagar, Vijay Nagar Colony, Asif Nagar, Mehdipatnam, Falaknuma, Tolichowki, Bahadurpura, Sheikhpeth, Nampally, Uppuguda, Kanchanbagh.

Creating history, Telangana's ruling TRS scored a landslide victory in the elections, winning over 102 seats in 150-member body.

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) wave washed away main opposition Congress and the Telugu Desam Party-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP-TDP) alliance, which were together reduced to single digits.

Out of the results declared till 10 p.m., TRS bagged 102 seats and was leading in couple of other divisions. This means the TRS, which had not contested the GHMC elections in 2009, has the majority to have its own corporator as mayor.

It was a remarkable performance for TRS, which proved its relevance in the politics Hyderabad, which is currently joint capital of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh.

The party which led the movement for separate Telangana state formed the first government in the new state following its victory in 2014 elections. However, the party could win just two out of 24 assembly seats in GHMC limits.

TRS won Jubile Hills, Monda Market, Hafeezpet, Moula Ali, Ramgopalpet, Sanathnagar, Gachibowli, Astinapuram, Bodhanagar, Madhapur, Khairtabad, Jiaguda, Miyapur, Kapra, Saidabad, Bagh Amberpet, Bharati Nagar, Alwal, Kukatpally, Chilkanagar.

The BJP won three and its alliance partner TDP won two seats. The ruling alliance in neighbouring Andhra Pradesh was virtually wiped out.

The fate of Congress was no different. The main opposition party in Telangana could win just two seats.

The counting of votes polled in Tuesday's elections began at 3:30 p.m. but the results and trends were announced after 5 p.m. when repolling in one division concluded.

Elections held in all 150 divisions on Tuesday had recorded 45.27 percent turnout. According to GHMC, 33,60,543 voters out of the total electorate of 74,23,980 cast their votes.

A re-poll in Puranapull division in the old city was ordered following complaints of rigging and incidents of violence.

A total of 1,333 candidates were in the fray. The TRS had fielded candidates for all the 150 divisions while Congress contested 149 seats. The TDP had fielded candidates in 90 divisions and BJP in 60. The MIM contested 63 seats.

This was the first GHMC election after the formation of separate Telangana state.

The TRS had no representation in the previous body, where the Congress shared power with MIM after their victory in 2009 elections.

In the first GHMC, Congress had 52 seats and MIM 43. TDP had bagged 45 seats while BJP had five corporators.

The TDP-BJP alliance, which is ruling neighboring Andhra Pradesh, was banking on voters from Andhra Pradesh settled in Hyderabad but the results show that the TRS won even in those divisions where Seemandhra voters were in sizeable numbers.

Leaving behind the bitterness of the Telangana movement, TRS had also tried to reach out to people from Andhra, saying Hyderabad belong to all people who live here.


Share this page
More Headlines
As oil prices decline, big is once again beautiful at Auto Expo
UP lawmaker Mukhtar Ansari acquitted in organised crime case
2.56 crore voters to cast ballot in upcoming Kerala state polls: Nasim Zaidi
Storm in Maharashtra over CBI permission to prosecute Ashok Chavan
Women don't make first move when it comes to online dating
07 years in office, Obama admits this is a time of concern and fear for US Muslims
Women appear more in images than men in online news
Close down 'vote bank shops' of Samajwadi Party: Owaisi asks people of Bikapur
BJP yuva morcha demands action against Shatrughan Sinha for criticising party
Political class, bureaucracy work together against Dalits: Ex-IAS officer Sivakami
Tanzanian girl attacked, stripped by mob in Bengaluru; 'Shameful', says Sushma
Prime Minister Modi to address farmers' rallies in four states before budget
Hyderabad municipal polls: Voter turnout improves from 42.92 to 45.27 percent
SIT to probe sex charges against hockey captain Sardar Singh
OROP to cost Rs.7,500 crore a year, arrears Rs.10,900 crore
Media playing important role in portraying Muslims as terrorists: US varsity research
Breakfast high in protein better for kids: Study
Supreme Court nod for Make in India function at Chowpatty beach
Chandra X-ray observatory spots spectacular jet in faraway galaxy
IIT-Bombay develops satellite-based fog monitoring system
Pune to host first Muslim Entrepreneurs Network Conference on February 7
Shia cleric hails Modi govt for steps taken to ensure peace and security for minorities
Iowa caucuses: Narrow win for Hillary Clinton, Ted Cruz beats Donald Trump
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of