Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
30 Muslims including BJP's Aminul Haque in newly elected Assam assembly
Thursday May 19, 2016 8:48 PM, News Network

As many as 30 Muslims belonging to the Congress and All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), and including BJP's sole Muslim MLA Aminul Haque Laskar, have been elected to the newly Assam assembly which for the first time will have a majority of BJP MLAs.

Of them, 15 Muslim MLAs have been elected on the Congress ticket, 13 Muslims on AIUDF ticket and 02 Muslim MLAs have won the elections on the BJP ticket.

Besides, Aminul Haque Laskar, who won the 2016 state election on BJP ticket from Sonai assembly seat, Numan Momin won the Bokajan assembly seat contesting as BJP candidate.

Other prominent Muslims who have been made to the newly elected house are Dr. Nazrul Islam, Dr. Motiur Rehman Mandal and Abdur Rashid Mandal of the Congress party. While Dr. Nazrul Islam and Dr. Motiur Rehan won from Laharighat and Mankachar assembly seats, Abdur Rashid Mandal won Goalpara West seat defeating AIUDF's Shah Alam by about 2.5 lakh votes.

Other Congress MLAs from the Muslim community are: Andul Hai Nagori, Jmaluddin Ahmed, Sherman Ali Ahmed, Rekibuddin Ahmed, Sukur Ali Ahmed, Ilyas Ali, Abul Kalam Rasheed Alam, Abdul Khaliq and Wazed Ali Choudhary.

Abul Kalam Azad of AIUDF has also won the election from Bhabanipur assembly seat. Others who have won the election on AIUDF ticket are: Nizamuddin Choudhary, Hafiz Bashir Ahmed, Anwar Hussain Laskar, Sahabuddin Ahmed, Aziz Ahmed Khan, Suzamuddin Laskar and Mamun Imdadul Haq Choudhary.

In a high turnout two-phased poll exercise, Assam had voted on 4 and 11 April to elect members to the 126-seat Assembly. The state recorded an impressive voter turnout of 82.21 percent after the second phase of voting.

Counting of votes began today morning at 08:00 am amid tight security, and final results were out by late in the afternoon.

According to the election commission data, the Bhartia Janata Party (BJP), winning a total of 60 seats, has emerged as the single largest party in the 126-member house.

On the other hand the Congress party which was ruling the state since last 15 years has won just 26 seats.

Badruddin Ajmal Qasmi-led (All India United Democratic Front), which had won 18 seats in the 2011 elections, could win just 13 seats.


Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of