Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
Gujarat to have three Muslim MLAs, one more than the last assembly

Tuesday December 19, 2017 11:27 PM, News Network

Muslim MLAs in Gujarat

The newly elected 182-member Gujarat Assembly will have 03 Muslim MLAs - one more than their tally in 2012, a glance at the state election results showed.

The two Muslims who have won the 2017 Gujarat Assembly elections are sitting MLAs Pirzada Mahamad Javid Abdulmutalib and Shaikh Gyasuddin Habibuddeen. The third one is Imran Yusufbhai Khedawala.

All the 03 Muslim MLAs have won the election as Congress candidate. Congress has fielded 06 Muslims in the 2017 elections. Of them 03 have won. The BJP had not given the party ticket to any Muslim candidate.

Sitting Congress MLA Shaikh Gyasuddin Habibuddeen has retained Dariapur Assembly seat in Ahmedabad district by defeating the BJP candidate by an improved margin.

Shaikh Gyasuddin polled a total of 63,712 Votes. This is two and half thousand more than his 2012 tally when he had polled 60,967 votes. He defeated his nearest rival Bharat Barot of BJP who polled 57,525 votes.

Dariapur is situated in Central Ahmedabad. It is famous for housing some of the important tourist destinations of Gujarat. Among them are Qutab Shah Mosque and Rani Sipri's Mosque. Muhafizkhan's Mosque is another Muslim sanctum situated here.

Imran Yusufbhai Khedawala of Congress has won the election from Jamalpur Khadia assembly seat in Ahmedabad region of Gujarat, State Election Commission said after counting of votes ended Monday afternoon.

Imran Yusufbhai Khedawala polled a total of 75, 346 votes and defeated Bhushan Ashok Bhatt of the BJP who polled 46,007 votes.

Imran unseated sitting MLA BHATT BHUSHAN ASHOK of BJP from the Jamalpur Khadia seat. BHATT BHUSHAN ASHOK had won the 2012 state election by getting 48,058 votes.

Ahemdabad has a total of 21 assembly seats including Viramgam, Sanand, Ghatlodia, Vejalpur, Vatva, Ellisbridge, Naranpura, Nikol, Naroda, Thakkarbapa Nagar, Bapunagar, Amraiwadi, Dariapur, Jamalpur-Khadiya, Maninagar, Danilimda, Sabarmati, Asarwa, Daskroi, Dholka and Dhandhuka.

Sitting Congress MLA from Wankaner Pirzada Mahamad Javid Abdulmutalib has retained his seat, State Election Commission said.

Pirzada Mahamad Javid won the Wankaner seat after a close contest with his nearest rival of BJP. According to the final tally, Pirzada polled 72,588 Votes as against Jitendra Kantilal Somani of BJP who bagged 71,227 votes.

In 2012 elections, Pirzada had won Wankaner seats bagging a total of 59,038 votes.

A Graduate Professional with BA, BED degrees from SAURASTRA UNIVERSITY. Pirzada Mohamd Javid is among few graduates in the fray.

The former princely state of Wankaner is located 53 km from Rajkot. Wankaner is a city and a municipality in Rajkot district in the State of Gujarat. Recently, Morbi has been given the status of district.

Gujarat Assembly elections were held in two phases on December 09 and December 14. Counting of votes was done on December 18.

Overall in the state, the ruling BJP won a total of 99 seats, Congress 80 seats and other bagged 03 seats.

Muslims have a population of about 9.97 per cent in Gujarat. As per the population, Gujarat Assembly should have at least 18 Muslim MLAs. Moreover, 25 Assembly constituencies have a sizeable Muslim population. Yet the maximum number of Muslim MLAs the Gujarat Assembly had was 12 in 1980.

Interestingly,the BJP had fielded some 350 Muslims in the recently held civic elections. But, it has so far given Assembly election ticket to only 01 Muslim.

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of