Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Sitting Congress Corporator in AIMIM 2nd list of 16 candidates for BMC polls

Monday January 30, 2017 11:31 AM, Staff Reporter

AKbaruddin Owaisi
[Senior AIMIM leader and party MLA in Telangana Assembly Akbaruddin Owaisi while addressing a rally in Mumbai. (File photo)]

Besides fielding Kalpana Khade and Prabhakar Dhawale as candidates, the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) has also given party ticket to a sitting and one of the senior most Congress corporator to contest the upcoming Mumbai Civic Elections.

According to the list of 16 candidates released on Sunday, Viqarunissa Ansari - Congress Corporator from Ward no. 223 since last 20 years, will contest the February 21 election as AIMIM candidate.

The AIMIM has also given party tickets to Kalpana Khade and Prabhakar Dhawale who will contest the polls from Ward No 121 and 150 respectively.

Others whose names have been included in the AIMIM 2nd list are: Aliya Khan (Ward no. 34), Mohsin Qureshi (Ward no. 48), Yusuf Bandhukia (Ward No. 51), Aijaz Qureshi (Ward no. 62), Shamira Mukhtar Shaikh (Ward no. 124), Shahnawaz Shaikh (Ward no 145), Imran Nabi (Ward no. 161), Kamal Shah (Ward no. 165), Rukiya Shafaqat Alam Shaikh (Ward no 167), Noorjahan Abdul Majid (Ward no 168), Siraj Retiwala (Ward no 170), Shenaz Siraj Malik (Ward no 201) and Zeeshan Hamid Shaikh (Ward no. 220).

The AIMIM had in the last week declared the names of 18 party candidates. The party MLA from Byculla Waris Pathan while releasing the first list said AIMIM will contest BMC elections in as many as 50 wards.

Congress Corporator Viqarunissa Ansari had joined the AIMIM ahead of the 2017 BMC elections after it was reported that she was unlikely to get Congress ticket in this election.

Earlier, in the week Nizamuddin Rayeen, Chairman of Congress Minority Department, and more than 40 of his supporters who were working on key posts in district Congress committees had also resigned from their respective posts and also from the primary membership of the Congress. They alleged that "RSS agents" in the Congress are working against the interest of the party.

A month earlier senior Congress leader of North Maharashtra and three-time MLA from Sillod Abdus Sattar had also resigned from his post in the Congress. While resigning as District Unit Chief immediately after civic polls in Aurangabad, he had accused State Congress President and former Chief Minister Ashok Chavan and Opposition Leader Radhakrishna Vikhe-Patil of working against the party candidates.



Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of