Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
BJP wave in Uttar Pradesh, but short of the magic number, says Exit Polls

Thursday March 9, 2017 8:07 PM, & Agencies

Akhilesh Rahul Gandhi
[Congress President Rahul Gandhi and UP Chief Minister Akhilesh Singh Yadav of the Samajwadi Party (SP) tried very hard to retain the state. All Exit Polls however say otherwise.]

New Delhi: Uttar Pradesh seems headed for a hung assembly in 2017 assembly elections with the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) emerging as the single largest party but far away from the magic number of 202 seats required to form government, the leading exit polls predicted on Thursday.

NewsX-MRC Exit Poll also predicts BJP wave in Uttar Pradesh, predicts 185 seats for the saffron party. The Exit Poll says SP-Congress will win 120 seats and the BSP will end up with 90 seats. Halfway mark is 202. Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party is said to have garnered a vote share of 28%, according to Times Now VMR Exit Poll.

However, the saffron party established its dominance with a vote share of 34% in Uttar Pradesh, according to Times Now-VMR Exit Polls.

India News-MRC survey says the BJP will win 188 seats in UP, while the SP-Congress alliance will end up with 120 seats. The BSP is predicted to finish third with 90 seats.

ABP News-CSDS, on the other hand, released its results on the basis of phases in Uttar Pradesh. It gives BJP 164-176, SP 156-169, BSP 60-72 seats.

According to ABP News-CSDS survey: First phase (73 seats): BJP may get 33-39 seats, SP on second with 20-26 seats, BSP distant third with 12-16, Second phase (67 seats): BJP 15-21, SP 37-43, BSP 7-11, Third phase (69 seats): BJP 27-33, SP 25-31, BSP 9-13. In 2012 Assembly elections, SP won 55 out of these 69 constituencies, Fourth phase (53 seats): BJP may get 27-33 seats, followed by SP with 16-22 seats. BSP may get 2-6 seats, Fifth phase (52 seats): SP again bounces back with 21-27 seats, BJP may get 14-20 seats, BSP winning 8-12 constituencies, Sixth phase (49 seats): BJP may get 18-24 seats, SP winning on 14-20 seats, BSP again placed at third with 8-12 seats and Seventh phase (40 seats): BJP winning 15-21 seats, SP 9-15, BSP 6-8 seats.

These are not the final results, but are mere predictions and Exit Polls based on inputs recieved on the polling day. The Final Results will be declared after counting of votes on March 11.

Post a hung-house prediction in the state on Thursday, Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav hinted at an alliance with BSP's Mayawati.

Akhilesh told BBC Hindi radio that if the SP-Congress combine falls short of a majority, they won't mind joining hands with the Mayawati's BSP in a bid to keep BJP out of UP.

Meanwhile, the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress-Samajwadi Party (SP) alliance both are upbeat about forming the next government in the state.

AICC General Secretary and in-charge of Congress Party affairs in Uttar Pradesh, Ghulam Nabi Azad, said the Samajwadi Party-Congress alliance will achieve two-third majority.

"The way alliance has worked; other parties do not even stand a chance to win. Never has any alliance been as successful as this alliance has been. Rahul-Gandhi and Akhilesh Yadav have worked very hard," he told ANI.

The senior Congressman also taunted the BJP, saying the saffron party stands no chances and is fighting for the second or third position.

On the other hand, Uttar Pradesh BJP chief Keshav Prasad Maurya also said the Samajwadi Party and Congress will be shocked after seeing the result on March 11.

"The Bharatiya Janata Party will cross the number of 300. On the basis of the feedback which I have collected from different areas, I can say UP will see the BJP government after 14 years," said Maurya.

"The people here want development to take place, hooliganism to end and good governance to prevail. That is why the people have supported us," he added.

Polling in the final phase of 7-phase Uttar Pradesh ended Wednesday. The Election Commission however had to postpone elections in few assembly constituencies for today due to the death of contesting candidates.

Along with Uttar Pradesh, elections were also held in Uttarakhand, Goa, Punjab and Manipur. The month-long election process started with polling in Punjab and Goa on February 04.

All five states witnessed high turnout with polling in Goa touching 81% on February 4. The same day Punjab saw a turnout of 77.37%.

Of the seven phases in Uttar Pradesh election, the maximum polling was in the second phase when 65.16% voters exercised their franchise. The two-phased polling in Manipur saw a turnout of 85.5% and 86%, respectively. The turnout in Uttarakhand was 65.64%.

Okram Ibobi Singh, Akhilesh Yadav, Parkash Singh Badal, Harish Rawat and Laxmikant Parsekar are hoping to retain power in Manipur, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand and Goa, respectively

All five went states that went to the polls — Punjab, Goa, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and Manipur — witnessed bitterly fought campaigns over the last one-and-a-half months.

Counting of votes will be done on Saturday Mrach 11, 2017. According to the election commission, counting of votes in all five states will start at 07:00 am.



Share this page
More Headlines
Inflammation in regeneration is beneficial or risk - Scientists research
Lacking in Job Satisfaction? Maintain your sex life and see the results
Latest research reveals early periods link with risk of gestational diabetes
Maharashtra Class 12 HSC paper leaked on social media; Four arrested
AIMIM Telangana MLA Kausar Mohiuddin booked for 'assaulting' woman
Upset over Mumbai BMC poll debacle, Owaisi to induce fresh blood into AIMIM Maharashtra unit
Conspiracy charges against Advani, other BJP, VHP leaders in Babri Masjid case may be revived
How safe are online pharmacies?
Madrassas and Sarswati Shishu Mandirs can't be tarred with the same brush
Watchdog approves two drugs for treatment of bowel cancer
Organ-on-a-chip model offers clues to Hutchinson-Gilford Progeria Syndrome
Netanyahu suggests law to prevent streets being named after Nobel peace winner Yasser Arafat
EKOS Research poll shows four in five Canadians back Israeli boycott
After Ramzan and Qabristan jibes, Prime Minister Modi urges 'Muslim Brothers' to join hands
Syed Shahabuddin - Top bureacurate who refused ministerial berths to speak for Muslims
Now, Sikh man shot at in US; Masked white attacker yelled 'go back to your own country'
RRB NTPC Stage II Exam: Results in process, boards need more time to finalise
After techie, Indian-origin businessman shot dead in US
Protest over "out of syllabus" Class 12 paper leaves girl, cop injured
BJP to support Shiv Sena nominees in Mumbai Mayor, Dy Mayor elections: Fadnavis
Vishvanath Mahadeshwar, Hareshwar Worlikar Sena nominees for Mayor, Dy Mayor posts in Mumbai

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of