Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Neck-and-neck battle in Uttarakhand, Goa; Hung house in Manipur: Exit Polls

Thursday March 9, 2017 9:18 PM, & Agencies

PM Modi in Uttarakhand
[Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressing an election rally.]

New Delhi: The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress are neck-and-neck battle in Uttarakhand and Goa whereas the Grand Old party is set to retain power in Manipur, Times Now - CVoter Exit Polls said Thursday.

According to the Times Now - CVoter Exit Polls broadcast today, BJP and Congress both are likely to end up with 32 seats in Uttarakhand. The state has a total of 69 seats.

The Exit Polls showed BJP ahead in Garhwal region with 16 seats whereas Congress leads in Kumuan region where it is likely to bag 16 seats. In Plains, the BJP is expected to win 8 seats and Congress could bag 11 seats.

The News24-Today's Chanakya survey gives the BJP a huge majority at 53 seats in Uttarakhand, while the India Today Axis exit poll says the party will get 46 to 53 seats in the state. India News-MRC shows the BJP at 38 and the Congress at 30 in Uttarakhand.

For the 40 seats of Goa Assembly, Times Now-CVoter Exit Polls said, the BJP will win 18 seats and Congress will bag a total of 15 seats.The survey has given AAP just 02 seats.

In Manipur where the Congress is in power Ecit Polls predicted that the Grand Old party is marginally ahead of the BJP. But, neither party is likely to get outright majority in the state's 60-member assembly, shows the poll of exit polls, which averages the surveys by the India TV-C Voter and India Today Axis.

The poll of exit polls by NDTV predicts 26 seats will go to the Congress and 24 to the BJP in the Manipal's 60-seat assembly, where the halfway mark is at 30.

The India-TV-C Voter poll predicts the BJP will win 25 to 31 seats -- the upper end giving the party a clear majority. The Congress, it says, will trail with 17 to 23 seats.

The India Today Axis survey gives the Congress 30 to 36 seats and the BJP between 16 and 22 seats.

Along with Uttarkhand, Goa and Manipur elections were also held in Punjab and Uttar Pradesh. The month-long election process started with polling in Punjab and Goa on February 04.

All leading Exit Polls are predicting that the BJP is leading in Uttar Pradesh, but short of the magic number of 202 to form the government.

The Exit Polls are however divided about the outcome of Punjab polls. While some predicted the Congress is leading, some others gave the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) a clear lead.

All five states witnessed high turnout with polling in Goa touching 81% on February 4. The same day Punjab saw a turnout of 77.37%.

Of the seven phases in Uttar Pradesh election, the maximum polling was in the second phase when 65.16% voters exercised their franchise. The two-phased polling in Manipur saw a turnout of 85.5% and 86%, respectively. The turnout in Uttarakhand was 65.64%.

Okram Ibobi Singh, Akhilesh Yadav, Parkash Singh Badal, Harish Rawat and Laxmikant Parsekar are hoping to retain power in Manipur, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand and Goa, respectively

All five went states that went to the polls — Punjab, Goa, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and Manipur — witnessed bitterly fought campaigns over the last one-and-a-half months.

Counting of votes will be done on Saturday Mrach 11, 2017. According to the election commission, counting of votes in all five states will start at 07:00 am.



Share this page
More Headlines
Inflammation in regeneration is beneficial or risk - Scientists research
Lacking in Job Satisfaction? Maintain your sex life and see the results
Latest research reveals early periods link with risk of gestational diabetes
Maharashtra Class 12 HSC paper leaked on social media; Four arrested
AIMIM Telangana MLA Kausar Mohiuddin booked for 'assaulting' woman
Upset over Mumbai BMC poll debacle, Owaisi to induce fresh blood into AIMIM Maharashtra unit
Conspiracy charges against Advani, other BJP, VHP leaders in Babri Masjid case may be revived
How safe are online pharmacies?
Madrassas and Sarswati Shishu Mandirs can't be tarred with the same brush
Watchdog approves two drugs for treatment of bowel cancer
Organ-on-a-chip model offers clues to Hutchinson-Gilford Progeria Syndrome
Netanyahu suggests law to prevent streets being named after Nobel peace winner Yasser Arafat
EKOS Research poll shows four in five Canadians back Israeli boycott
After Ramzan and Qabristan jibes, Prime Minister Modi urges 'Muslim Brothers' to join hands
Syed Shahabuddin - Top bureacurate who refused ministerial berths to speak for Muslims
Now, Sikh man shot at in US; Masked white attacker yelled 'go back to your own country'
RRB NTPC Stage II Exam: Results in process, boards need more time to finalise
After techie, Indian-origin businessman shot dead in US
Protest over "out of syllabus" Class 12 paper leaves girl, cop injured
BJP to support Shiv Sena nominees in Mumbai Mayor, Dy Mayor elections: Fadnavis
Vishvanath Mahadeshwar, Hareshwar Worlikar Sena nominees for Mayor, Dy Mayor posts in Mumbai

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of