Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Salim Multani from Surat East among 9 in AAP's 2nd list for Gujarat polls

Thursday November 16, 2017 10:55 PM, & Agencies

AAP List for Gujarat

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has fielded Salim Multani from Surat East - one of the few assembly seats in Gujarat where Muslims are in a sizeable number.

Salim Multani's name figured in the second list of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) containing names of a total of 09 caniddates.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has also replaced its candidate Anil Verma, declared in the first list, for the Bapunagar constituency after receiving complaints against him. Verma has been replaced by Amjad Pathan.

Of the total 2.4 lakh votes in Surat-East, Muslims comprise around 84,000, while Vohras and Dalits number about 3,500 and 14,000, respectively.

Surat-East is in news today because of the banners which surfaced in the city demanding from the Congress to field a Muslim candidate from the constituency.

Besides Salim Multani, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has decided to field Gunvant Patel in Gandhinagar-North, Jilubhai Bavaliya in Botad, Nagajibhai Ambaliya in Katargam, Ajit Lokhil in Rajkot- East, Jignesh Mehta in Karanj, Ramesh Nabhani in Palanpur, Govind Danicha in Gandhidham and Paresh Bhanderi in Jamnagar-Rural.

Three of these seats -- Rajkot (East), Palanpur, and Jamnagar (Rural) -- are currently being held by Congress MLAs, while the remaining six are with the BJP.

In its first released about a month ago, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) had finalised the names of 11 candidates.

The 11 seats where AAP candidates will contest the 2017 Gujarat polls are Bapunagar, Unjha, Rajkot (West), Danilimda, Lathi, Chhota Udepur, Padra, Karjan, Pardi, Gondal and Kamrej.

With the release of the 2nd list, the Arvind Kejriwal-led party has declared the names of candidates for 20 assembly seats out of the total 182 in the state, where elections will be held in two phases on December 9 and 14.

The counting of votes will be done on December 18.

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of