Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
Karnataka Govt Formation: Yeddyurappa, Kumaraswamy stake claim

Tuesday May 15, 2018 7:01 PM, Team

HD Kumaraswamy

Bengaluru: BJP's Chief Ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa and HD Kumaraswamy, Janata Dal (S) leader and son of former prime minister HD Deve Gowda, on Tuesday met Governor and staked claim to form the government in Karnataka.

Counting of votes in Karnataka was held today and as expected it was a hung house. As per the final result announced by the Election Commission today afternoon, the BJP has finished with 104 seats, Congress has bagged 78 seats, Janata Dal (S) won 38 seats and others got 02 seats.

The halfway mark is 112. Soon after the results Congress offered unconditional support to Janata Dal (S) and asked the latter to form an alliance government in Karnataka. After Janata Dal (S) accepted Congress offer, leaders of the two alliance partners and met Governor and submitted letters to him.

The Congress, in its letter, has said it is supporting the government led by the JD(S). The JD(S) in its letter has said that it has the support of the Congress party MLAs. The Governor informed both the alliance leaders that he will wait for the EC to submit to him the results of the elections following which he will respond to the letters.

On the other hand, BJP’s chief ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa too met the Governor and staked claim to form government in Karnataka. Yeddyurappa, who was accompanied by Union Minister Ananth Kumar and other party leaders, said since the BJP has emerged as the single largest party, it should be invited to form the government in the state.

Meanwhile, the Congress has ridiculed the BJP’s claim of being single largest party reminding it the cases of Goa and Meghalaya where the latter formed the government even though the Congress emerged as the single largest party after the elections in the two states.

Karnataka has a total of 224 seats in its assembly. But, polling in the state was held on Saturday May 12, 2018 for 222 seats. Election for one seat was cancelled because of the death of the BJP nominee whereas polling in Rajarajeswari Nagar seat was postponed to May 28 after a cache of voter ID cards was seized.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of