Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Shoaib Iqbal, Haroon Yusuf win in Delhi assembly elections
Sunday December 8, 2013 9:09 PM, News Network

Shoaib Iqbal and Haroon Yusuf - the two heavyweights of Muslim community in Delhi's minority concentrated areas won the elections from their respective constituencies.

While Shoaib Iqbal contesting the election on Janata Dal (United) ticket won from Matia Mahal constituency, Haroon Yusuf - the Congress candidate won contesting from Ballimaran.

Shoaib Iqbal defeated Mirza Javed Ali of the Congress party by a margin of more than 3000 votes.

In Delhi's Mustafabad constituency, Congress party candidate Hasan Ahmad defeated his nearest rival Jagdish Pradahan of BJP.

Other notable Muslim winner in Delhi is Asif Mohammad Khan who won the election from Okhla constituency. Asif defeated AAP candidate Irfanullah Khan.

Prominent among the Muslims who lost the election is the Muslim face of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Shazia Ilmi. Shazia who was contesting from Delhi's RK Puram seat lost the election by 326 votes to BJP's Anil Kumar Sharma.

The Congress party has tasted humiliating defeat in Delhi. In a biggest shocker of the day, Arvind Kejriwal surged past Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit in the New Delhi assembly constituency.

Overall, Congress could win just 07 seats in Delhi with the BJP and AAP fighting neck-and-neck for the first position.

Election for the 70-member Delhi assembly were held on December 04.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.