Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Congress consensus on 20-22 names for Delhi assembly elections
Saturday October 19, 2013 11:05 PM, IANS

The Congress screening committee Saturday arrived at a consensus on the names of 20-22 sitting MLAs to be given tickets for the Dec 4 assembly polls.

"There was consensus on some 20-22 names of MLAs for party tickets. The remaining names will be decided in the next committee meeting on Tuesday," said a senior leader.

Sources said clean record and winning probability were primary considerations for choosing candidates.

A list of 42 sitting MLAs was forwarded by the 27-member Delhi election committee after it failed to unanimously decide on ticket distribution.

A decision on 28 seats will be taken later.

In an earlier screening committee meeting, it was decided that aspirants with serious criminal charges, those who have lost twice from their constituencies or were defeated by more than 10,000 votes would not get tickets.

Around 1,600 applicants are in the fray for tickets, with the final call to be taken by the Sonia Gandhi-headed Central Election Committee.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.