Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
Suresh Jain's Khandesh Vikas Aghadi leads in Jalgaon Civic elections
Monday September 2, 2013 4:06 PM, Staff Reporter

The ruling Khandesh Vikas Aghadi is leading in the Jalgaon Municipal Corporation Elections, the counting of votes for which began today morning at 10:00.

The Aghadi, formed by Sureshdada Jain - a former state minister who was arrested in a graft case and is in judicial custody since more than a year, is leading in 27 of the total 75 seats of the restructured civic body in North Maharashtra region and looks all set to rule again for the next five year.

While the counting of votes still goes on, the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in 19 wards whereas the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) is ahead in 11 wards. Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS), which is fighting the election first time, is also leading in 06 wards.

The Congress party is facing a humiliating defeat since it cannot win any seat till this time.

An estimated 55% of the total voters had exercised their democratic rights in what is claimed as near peaceful elections for the 75 seats of the restructured Jalgaon Municipal Corporation, polling for which ended on Sunday at 05.00 p.m.

"Voting for the 75 member Jalgaon Municipal Corporation began today morning at 07:00 and ended at 05:00 in the evening. It was by and large a peacful polling", official sources said.

A total of 406 candidates were in fray for the 75 seats after 837 nominations were declared valid. On the last day of withdrawal, 205 candidates withdrew from the race.

The Khandesh Vikas Aghadi, led by Ramesh Jain in the bsence of Surshdada Jain, is contesting all the seats. Jain himself is contesting from Ward No 29(B).

The NCP had fielded 68 candidates, out of which four withdrew from the race, leaving 64 in fray.

The BJP had fielded 63 candidates, while the Congress announced 41 candidates, out of which one each withdrew. The Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) had announced 46 candidates, out of which three withdrew.

Samajwadi Party has also fielded its candidates in the Jalgaon Municipal elections for the first time. The party is contesting the elections on 18 seats.

Interestingly, all political parties including BJP, have given party tickets to Muslims. While Aghadi and NCP have given tickets to 07 and 14 Muslim candidates respectively, the BJP has also given tickets to 05 Muslims. The Samajwadi Party has given tickets to 09 Muslims.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.