Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
All set for polling in sixth phase of Lok Sabha battle
Thursday April 17, 2014 1:07 AM, IANS

Polling begins at 7 a.m. on Thursday in 121 Lok Sabha constituencies spread over 12 states in the sixth phase of staggered general election, officials said on Wednesday.

Some 197 million electorate will be eligible to pick 121 members to the lower house of parliament from among 1,767 candidates in Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.

Simultaneous balloting will be held for 77 of the 147 assembly seats in Odisha and two assembly constituencies in West Bengal. The earlier polling in Odisha took place April 10.

"Tomorrow is a big day, and the Election Commission is all geared up," a senior official told IANS. "We have mobilized all resources for a free and fair election."

Election has already taken place in 111 Lok Sabha constituencies in the earlier five rounds of balloting that began April 7. Thursday will see the largest number of Lok Sabha seats in contention until now.

Among the prominent candidates Thursday are Ghulam Nabi Azad (Udhampur), Maneka Gandhi (Pilibhit), Shatrughan Sinha (Patna Sahib), Jaswant Singh (Barmer), M. Veerappa Moily (Chikkaballapur), Ananth Kumar and Nandan Nilekani (Bangalore South), Misha Bharti (Patliputra), Sachin Pilot (Ajmer), Sushilkumar Shinde (Solapur), Buta Singh (Jalore), Ashok Chavan (Nanded), Gopinath Munde (Beed), Supriya Sule (Baramati), V. Balakrishnan (Banglaore Central), B.S. Yeddyurappa (Shimoga), and S.S. Ahluwalia and Bhaichung Bhutia (Darjeeling).

According to the Election Commission, about 1.37 million staff will oversee the polling in 225,387 centres until 6 p.m., barring in the lone Manipur parliamentary seat where balloting will end at 4 p.m.

Weeks of hectic campaigning including rallies and road shows for the sixth round ended Tuesday evening.

Thursday will see election in all 28 Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka, 20 in Rajasthan, 19 in Maharashtra, 11 each in Odisha and Uttar Pradesh, seven in Bihar, six in Jharkhand, four in West Bengal, three in Chhattisgarh and one each in Manipur and Jammu and Kashmir.

In West Bengal, all eyes are on Darjeeling where football icon Bhaichung Bhutia (Trinamool Congress) is pitted against S.S. Ahluwalia (BJP).

Bihar's 117 candidates also include former union home secretary R.K. Singh (BJP).

In Rajasthan, voting will take place in 20 of the 25 constituencies including Jaipur, Jhunjhunu, Churu, Bikaner, Jodhpur, Barmer, Udaipur, Bhilwara, Ajmer and Banswara.

In Karnataka, 434 candidates are in the fray. Most constituencies will see four-way contests involving the BJP, the Congress, Janata Dal-Secular and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

The 19 seats in Maharashtra are located in Marathwada, the sugar-rich belt in the western part of the state and coastal Konkan.

In Uttar Pradesh, the 11 constituencies, including Moradabad, Nagina, Rampur, Aonla and Pilibhit, have 151 candidates. BJP's Maneka Gandhi is trying her luck for the sixth time in a Lok Sabha contest.

In Jammu and Kashmir, union Health Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad is facing his career's biggest challenge in Udhampur.

In Chhattisgarh, veteran Congress leader Ajit Jogi is contesting from Mahasamund while Chief Minister Raman Singh's son Abhishek Singh is making his electoral debut in Rajnandgaon.

Among the seats going to the polls in Jharkhand are Ranchi, Jamshedpur, Giridih and Hazaribagh.

Four more rounds of Lok Sabha election will take place until May 12. The millions of votes cast across the country will be counted May 16 - to know which party or coalition will get to rule India the next five years.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.