Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » National
All 10 Kerala legislators withdraw from US trip following Gaza war
Saturday August 2, 2014 8:37 PM, IANS

With the Congress now asking its legislators to withdraw from the International Visitor's Leadership Programme organised by the US State Department, none of the 10 lawmakers from the state will be going for it.

The programme is being held in a few locations in the US from Aug 4-24.

Speaking to IANS, senior Congress legislator and party whip Benny Behenan said that following the issues in Gaza, it was decided that the party legislators should not undertake the US trip.

Kerala assembly Speaker G.Karthikeyan, who was asked to nominate 10 legislators for the programme, had selected three from the Left-led opposition and seven from the ruling Congress-led United Democratic Front.

But first the Communist Party of India-Marxist decided against sending its legislator T.V.Rajesh and also asked K.T.Jaleel - a CPI-M supported independent legislator - not to go. Soon, the Communist Party of India also asked its member K.M.Bijimol to drop out.

Then came the turn of the Indian Union Muslim League who decided to ask their legislators not to go.

"Mons Joseph of the Kerala Congress-Mani has also decided not to go and so there will be no Kerala legislator who will attend the event," said Behanan.


Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.