Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Peaceful ballotting in Bihar assembly by-polls
Thursday August 21, 2014 10:59 AM, IANS

Voting for the by-election in 10 assembly constituencies in Bihar began Thursday on a peaceful note, officials said.

Voters were seen queuing up to exercise their franchise in most of the constituencies after 7 a.m., officials said, adding there were no reports of violence.

"Voting is underway and around eight percent polling was recorded till 9 a.m.," an official of the state election commission said.

Additional Director General of Police Gupteshwar Pandey said elaborate security arrangements have made made and personnel of paramilitary forces were deployed as some areas were identified as Maoist-affected.

A total of 2,642,407 voters in the 10 constituencies are eligible to exercise their franchise to decide the fate of 94 candidates, including five women.

The 10 constituencies where by-polls are being held are Narkatiaganj, Rajnagar, Jale, Chapra, Hajipur, Mohiuddinnagar, Parbatta, Bhagalpur, Banka, and Mohania.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.