Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » National
Centre's nod to renaming Bangalore, 11 other cities in Karnataka
Tuesday December 16, 2014 9:12 PM, IANS

The central government Tuesday agreed to Karnataka's proposal to rename its 12 cities, including state capital Bangalore which will now be officially known as Bengaluru.

With the home ministry giving its official go-ahead to the proposal, Karnataka's port city Mangalore has been renamed Mangalaru.

Minister of State for Home Affairs Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary said in the Lok Sabha that the ministry issues guidelines for changing names of cities or towns.

Iron ore-rich Bellary will be known as Ballari, while the famous city of Mysore has been renamed Mysure.

The city of Bijapur will be known as Vijayapur or Vijapura, while Belgaum has been renamed Belagavi.

Chikmagalur will be Chikkamagaluru, Hospet will now be Hosapete and Shimoga will be Shivamogga.

Hubli and Tumkur have been renamed Hubballi and Tumakuru, respectively.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.