Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
BJP's Hina Bhatt leads in Amirakadal, Omar ahead in both seats
Tuesday December 23, 2014 9:28 AM, News Network

BJP's star cmapaigner and the prominent Muslim face of the saffron party in Jammu and Kahsmir Hina Bhatt is leading ahead of all her rivals in Amirakadal.

Amirakadal, from where Dr. Hina Bhatt of BJP, who is the daughter of former National Conference MLC Muhammad Shafi Bhat, is currently leading, was the seat Yusuf Shah contested in 1987. After the rigged elections, he became Syed Salahuddin, head of the Hizbul Mujahiddin.

Similarly, Chief Minister Omar Abdullah is alos leading in both his constituencies, Beerwah and Sonawar.

BJP has also shown massive gains in other parts of the state. Trends available by 09:5 a.m. has shown the saffron party is leading in 17 of the 47 seats where counting began this morning. It is a gain of 10.

Earlier reports said the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) was ahead of all others in Jammu and Kashmir followed by the BJP as officials Tuesday counted votes polled in assembly elections.

But as BJP surges ahead, the PDP led by Mufti Saeed was ahead in 11 seats.

Congress and the ruling NC were ahead in just 07 and 08 seats respectivley.

Most exit polls have predicted a hung assembly in Jammu and Kashmir, the country's only Muslim-majority state.

Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office Jitendra Singh told CNN-IBN that the BJP was "going to make history in Jammu and Kashmir".

A total of 48.29 lakh votes are to be counted.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.