Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Samina Khan first Muslim given AAP Lok Sabha ticket in Maharashtra
Thursday February 27, 2014 7:08 PM, Hena Farhat,

The Aam Aadmi Party Thursday announced its second list of 30 candidates for Lok Sabha elections, deciding to field Advocate Samina Khan as its candidate to contest the 2014 Lok Sabha polls from Sangli.

Advocate Samina Khan is the first Muslim who has been given the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) ticket to contest the general election.s

Considered as the stronghold of Congress, Sangli held most of the time by former Maharashtra Chief Minister Vasantdaa Patil and his kin, is currently represented in the parliament by Pratik Patil of Indian National Congress.

The AAP sources had earlier said that the party intended to field as many as six Muslims including two women candidates to contest the Lok Sabha elections from Maharashtra.

The other five seats considered for Muslim candidates include Mumbai, Bhiwandi, Malegaon, Akola and one in Konkan.

The AAP leader in Maharashtra, Mayank Gandhi while talking to on phone had said that the party was committed to give representation to people from all caste and religion though the decision would be made solely on merit.

"We will be giving fare representation to Muslims, people from other backward communities and women", he said to on phone.

The other Muslim name which figures in the AAP second list is of Dr.Raza Bhatt. He will be contesting the elction from Srinagar

Other names in the AAP second list are Rajmohan Gandhi, who will contest Lok Sabha election from East Delhi constituency against Congress' Sandeep Dikhsit, Dr. Dharamveer Bharti from Patiala, Major Surendra Punia from Seekar, HC Arya from Almora, Dr. Rajan Sushant from Kangra, Samina Khan from Sangli, Bhagwat Rajput from Vidisha, General Raj Kadyan from Jhunjunoo.

AAP had last Sunday had announced the first list of candidates for Lok Sabha polls. The list included – Ashutosh, Mukul Tripathi, Baba Hardev, Subash Ware, Anjali Damania, Soumendra Dhaka, Jarnail Singh, Dr Jiyalal Ra, Kumar Vishwas, Yogendra Yadav, Mayank Gandhi, Medha Patkhar, Meera Sanyal, Habung Payeng, Baliram Pandhare, Alok Aggarwal, Lingraj, Harvinder Singh Phoolka, Yogesh Dahiya, Khalid Parvaiz.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.