Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
TRS chief Chandrasekhara Rao takes oath as first CM of Telangana
Monday June 2, 2014 10:34 AM, IANS

Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) chief K. Chandrasekhara Rao Monday took oath as the first chief minister of Telangana.

Telangana birth

Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan administered the oath of office and secrecy to Rao at a ceremony held at Raj Bhavan here.

Eleven cabinet ministers also took the oath with KCR, as Rao is popularly known.

Those who took oath include KCR's son K. Taraka Rama Rao and nephew Harish Rao.

The swearing-in took place a few hours after Telangana came into being as the 29th state of India.

Meanwhile, celebrations broke out across Telangana as it came into being as the 29th state of India Monday.

'Jai Telangana' rent the air as the region comprising 10 districts erupted in celebrations to mark the fulfilment of nearly 60-year-old dream of the people.

Bursting of firecrackers, unfurling of the national flag, distribution of sweets and greetings marked the celebrations, which began midnight.

Hundreds gathered at Gun Park near the state assembly building to pay their tributes to the martyrs of Telangana.

Firecrackers, especially brought from Mumbai, were burst at several traffic junctions and the main roads in Hyderabad. Telangana protagonists took to the streets and were seen dancing to the tunes of popular Telangana song. Holding flags of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), the party activists took to the streets on their motorbikes.

Celebrations were held on a grand scale on Tank Bund and Necklace Road around Hussain Sagar lake, which divides the twin cities of Hyderabad and Secunderabad.

The Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) illuminated main junctions, historic monuments Charminar, Golconda Fort, legislative assembly building, state secretariat and other government buildings.

Similar celebrations were held in nine other districts of Telangana.

The main official ceremony will be held at Parade Grounds in Secunderabad where K. Chandrasekhara Rao, who took oath as the first chief minister of Telangana, will unfurl the national flag and take salute at a colourful parade.

Various political parties also organised Telangana formation day celebrations. TeluguA

Desam Party (TDP) chief N. Chandrababu Naidu, who is set to take oath as the chief minister of Andhra Pradesh, hoisted the national flag at NTR Trust Bhavan, the party headquarters.

Similar functions were being organised at offices of the Congress party, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and other parties, non-political pro-Telangana groups and unions of government employees.

The formation of Telangana as a separate state followed passage of Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill in parliament in February this year.

With this Andhra Pradesh has split into two states. Telangana comprises 10 districts while residuary state of Andhra Pradesh comprises 13 districts of coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema.

Hyderabad, one of the 10 districts of Telangana, will serve as the common capital of both the states for 10 years.

The bifurcation brought curtains on undivided Andhra Pradesh, which was formed Nov 1, 1956 with the merger of Telangana with the then Andhra State.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.