Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Satyajit Gaekwad of Cong to contest against Amrish Patel in Dhule
Friday March 28, 2014 12:23 PM, Staff Reporter

In a major setback to Congress Party, a key member of Rahul Gandhi brigade and scion of erstwhile Baroda State Satyajitsinhrao Gaewkad has decided to join the Samajwadi Party (SP) and is all set to contest against Amrish Patel of Congress in the coming general election.

While talking to on phone Gaekwad - three-time MP and a powerful Maratha leader, said he was fed up of hectic lobbying in the Congress party and systematic sidelining of loyal leaders and hence he has decided to join the Samajwadi Party (SP).

He also said that he will contest the April 24 general election as Samajwadi Party (SP) candidate.

An official announcement in this regard will be made in a press conference today in the afternoon, SP Mumbai office sources said.

Gaekwad had sought ticket from Congress party to contest the election from the Dhule-Malegaon seat but was denied.

Holding a masters degree in commerce from MS University, Gaekwad is a seasoned politician who has held various posts in Congress apart from winning municipal polls in 1995. He also held the post of president of Indian Youth Congress in the past.

Gaekwad's candidature from the Dhule-Malegaon Lok Sabha seat has made the electoral battle in the North Mharashtra very interesting. He is pitted against Congress's Amrish Patel, BJP's Dr Subhash Bhamre and Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) Nihal Ansari.

Amrishbhai Patel of the Congress party, an MLC who hails from Shirpur, is trying a second chance in the 2014 elections. He had contested the last election on Congress ticket but had lost to BJP's Pratapdada Sonawane by a margin of over 19,000 votes.

Dhule and Malegaon were two reserved constituencies since independence. They however were clubbed into a single constituency after the delimitation in 2008 and also made an open seat. It has over 15 lakh voters spread across six assembly constituencies that include Dhule (Central), Dhule (Outer), Malegaon (Central), Malegaon (Outer), Sindkheda and Baglaan.

Eralier, the Dhule-Malegaon Lok Sabha seat saw hectic lobbying and in-fighting between rival groups in all three parties for official nomination. While Asif Shaikh Rasheed of Malegaon, Irshad Jagirdar of Dhule, Satyajit Gaekwad of Kaulane and others were in fierce battle with Amrishbhai Patel for the Congress seat, sitting MP Pratapdada Sonawane of Baglaan, Subash Devre of Dhule and Advay Hiray of Malegaon locked horn with Subhash Bhamre for the BJP ticket.

To get a ticket from the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) was not easy for Ansari Nihal Ahmed too. Party insiders while talking to said that over 50 people had lined up for the party ticket from the Dhule-Malegaon seat.


Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.