Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Science & Technology
Saboo Siddik engg students win SAE Aero Design competition USA
Sunday May 4, 2014 8:33 PM, Staff Reporter

Two groups of students from an Engineering College in Mumbai have emerged winners in an aero design competition held in the United States of America.

Sabook Siddik

While one team won the first prize globally at the Aero Design in Micro Class SAE Aero Design West Micro Class 2014, another team emerged as the top winner from Asia in the Advanced Class contest, says a release here.

The competition was held at Fortworth, Texas, United States, from March 28-30, and the teams returned last week.

Both the teams belong to Anjuman-i-Islam's M H Saboo Siddik college of Engineering at Byculla in Central Mumbai.

Teams of Saboo Siddik college was invited to participate in other international events of this stature.

The SAE Aero Design competition is intended to provide undergraduate and graduate engineering students with a real-life engineering challenge. The competition was held to provide exposure to the kinds of situations that engineers face in their real-life work environment.

SAE Aero Design features three classes of competition-Regular, Advanced, and Micro, said the release.

In the micro class, the team was exemplary at the Aero Design in which they secured the first position and it was accredited by Lockheed Martin and NASA.

"The Entire design had over-whelming response in which best institutions such as IIT Kanpur, Vellore Institute of Technology etc from India and highly reputed institutions from all over the globe took part," a spokesperson of the college said.

The team comprised of Dr Sanjay Kumar (Faculty), Adith Ajayan (Captain), Abdul Kadir Poonawala, Imran Merchant, Hussain Shaikh, Muzammil Sarkhot, Darpan Agarwal, Afsan Gujarati and Sharang Biradar.

These students are from the automobile engineering stream. The Team Aerosouls, which took part in the Advanced Class, too, did wonders.

Seventeen teams from across the world including 7 teams from India represented by premier Institutes such as I.I.T Kanpur, NIT, Jamshedpur, VIT, Vellore, besides the Mumbai team participated in the Advanced Category.

In this event, the Indian team missed the top slot narrowly but emerged as the first in Asia, the release said.

The team comprised of Deleep Talwai (Faculty) Mustafa Hatiyari (Captain), Saqlain Siddique, Atharva Joshi, Harshad Bhanushali, Abdul Karim Sarang, Hanif Shaikh, Shehzaad Keralwalla, Faheem Chaudhary, Manish Shukla, Zameer Ansari, Asma Khan and Shaziya Shaikh. They are students of mechanical engineering and electronics engineering stream.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.