Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Congress ahead in Telangana, TDP in Seemandhra civic polls
Monday May 12, 2014 12:20 PM, IANS

The Congress party in Telangana and the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in Seemandhra are ahead in the municipal elections as the counting of votes was underway Monday.

The Congress has bagged nine municipalities in Telangana while the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) has captured five. The Congress has also established lead in many other municipalities.

Out of three municipal corporations which went to polls in Telangana, the TRS has bagged Karimnagar while the Congress is ahead in Nizamabad and Ramagundem.

Overall, the Congress has so far won 394 seats and the TRS 245 seats in Telangana.

The TDP has bagged 129 and others 256 seats.

In Seemandhra, the TDP is ahead of its nearest rival the YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) while the Congress has almost been wiped out due to public anger over bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh.

The TDP has won control of 36 municipalities while YSRCP has won 11. Among the seven corporations which went to polls, the TDP has bagged Chittoor and is ahead in two other urban bodies.

Overall, the TDP has so far won 934 seats and YSRCP 634 seats. The Congress has won just 45.

The counting of votes polled in March 30 elections in 10 municipal corporations and 146 municipalities began at 8 a.m. Monday at 155 centres across the state.

In Telangana, elections were held for 56 municipalities and three corporations and in Seemandhra for 90 municipalities and seven corporations.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.