Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Brisk voting in UP bypolls, stakes high for BJP, SP
Saturday September 13, 2014 11:03 AM, IANS

Voting began on a brisk note Saturday in the Uttar Pradesh bypolls to the 11 assembly and one parliamentary seat.

While balloting was slow owing to a drizzle in the Lucknow (East) constituency, long lines of voters were seen outside polling stations in Charkhari, Sirathu, Balha, Rohania, Nighasan, Saharanpur city, Bijnore, Thakurdwara, Noida, and Hamirpur.

Voting is being held under tight security in Mainpuri, the lone Lok Sabha constituency that went to polls Saturday.

Mainpuri with 1,647,176 voters is crucial for the Samajwadi Party (SP) as the seat has been held by the party for over two decades.

Voting in the biggest assembly segment in terms of voters in the bypolls - Noida (523,762) and the smallest Thakurdwara (329,438) - was also under way peacefully.

For the Samajwadi Party, the polls are an opportunity to make a comeback, after its disastrous showing in the Lok Sabha battle where its numbers dipped from 22 to five.

The Mainpuri Lok Sabha constituency was vacated by Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav. The SP has fielded Tej Pratap Singh Yadav, a grandnephew of Mulayam Singh, while the BJP has fielded Prem Singh Shakya. The Bahujan Samaj Party has this time decided not to contest.

Election officials said adequate arrangements have been made to ensure free and fair elections.

"So far polling has been peaceful and we want more and more voters to come out and cast their votes," UP's Chief Electoral Officer Umesh Sinha told IANS.

In all, 3,820 micro-observers have been deployed across the 5,939 polling booths of which 1,920 have been declared sensitive.

SP general secretary Ram Gopal Yadav voted in Mainpuri and claimed victory.

Talking to reporters, Ram Gopal Yadav said SP's candidates will win handsomely this time as the reality of "false dreams" sold by Prime Minister Narendra Modi during the Lok Sabha polls has been exposed.

"People know what the truth behind Modi's dreams was and they have made up their mind in favour of the Samajwadi Party," he added.

Barring Mainpuri which was won by SP chief Mulayam Singh Yadav, all 11 assembly seats were held by the BJP and its ally Apna Dal.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.