Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » National
Arvind Panagariya appointed vice chairman of NITI Aayog
Monday January 5, 2015 7:32 PM, IANS

Economist Arvind Panagariya has been appointed vice chairman of the newly-constituted National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog.

Economist Bibek Debroy and former DRDO director general V.K. Saraswat will be full-time members of the Aayog, which replaces the Planning Commission, an official release here said Monday.

Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu, and Agriculture Minister Radha Mohan Singh have been named as ex-officio members.

Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari, Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thawar Chand Gehlot and Human Resource Development Minister Smriti Irani will be part of the Aayog as special invitees, the release added.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be the chairperson of the Aayog.


Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.