Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Life & Style
Sheikh Bin Humaid, Professor Vamsi Krishna among 8 winners of King Faisal Prize
Wednesday January 20, 2016 10:21 PM, IINA

Eight distinguished scholars from various parts of the world, including a top Saudi scholar, won the prestigious King Faisal International Prize in different categories on Tuesday, Arab News reported.

The glittering event was held under the aegis of Prince Khaled Al-Faisal, Makkah governor and chairman of the King Faisal Foundation, who delivered the welcome address. Prince Khaled said the winners will be presented with the awards within two months.

Prince Khaled also said that merit and excellence are the criteria for selection. As testimony to the high caliber of prize recipients and to the importance of the research carried out by KFIP laureates, many winners have gone on to win Nobel Prizes for the same works that were recognized by KFIP, he said.

The awards were in five categories: Service to Islam, Arabic language and literature, Islamic studies, medicine and science.

The King Faisal International Prize (KFIP) for Service to Islam was awarded to Grand Mosque imam and former Shoura Council Chairman Sheikh Saleh bin Humaid.

Sheikh Bin Humaid is an advisor at the Saudi Royal Court, member of the Commission of Senior Scholars and President of the Jeddah-based International Islamic Fiqh Academy (IIFA).

The prize was awarded in appreciation of his leading role in the IIFA.

Prof. Abdullah bin Yousif Al-Ghunaim, president of the Kuwaiti Studies and Research Center, was the winner of the KFIP for Islamic Studies. It was given to him in recognition of his seminal contributions both as an author and critical editor of original manuscripts of Muslim geographic legacy and his distinguished venture to revive ancient Arabic terms on shapes of the earth’s surface and adapt them to contemporary geography.

The KFIP for Arabic Language and Literature was awarded to Prof. Mohammed Al-Ghazawani Muftah from Morocco and Prof. Mohammed Abdul Muttalib Mustafa from Egypt.

Professor Muftah is recognized for his distinguished methodical and theoretical endeavors in Arabic language and literature. He has employed modern concepts in analyzing and describing Arabic poetic texts, perceiving them within the context of human culture.

Professor Mohammed Abdul Muttalib is recognized for his important accomplishments in applied analysis of Arabic poetry; he has competently and skillfully coined his analysis of poetic texts with deep knowledge of Arabic culture and insight of contemporary literary and stylistic concepts.

Professor Han Grrit Brunner and Professor Joris Andre Veltman from the Netherlands shared the King Faisal Prize for Medicine for clinical application of next generation genetics.

Professors Brunner and Veltman were selected as winners in recognition of their prominent role in moving into clinical practice a novel method of analyzing DNA, referred to as next generation sequencing.

Professor Vamsi Krishna Mootha from the US and Professor Stephen Philip Jackson from the UK shared the King Faisal Prize for Science in Biology.

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of