Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
Now, Smriti Irani kicked out from Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs
Saturday July 16, 2016 6:04 PM, Agencies

New Delhi:
In a surprise move, Union Minister for Textiles Smriti Irani was not included in any of the six cabinet committees reconstituted by Prime Minister Narendra Modi whereas many junior ministers were taken into the fold.

In a reshuffle that comes a few weeks after the cabinet rejig, Textile Minister Smriti Irani, who was a special invitee to the Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs (CCPA), was dropped from it.

Prakash Javdekar, who replaced Smriti Irani as the human resources minister, has been made a member of the CCPA along with newly-appointed Parliamentary Affairs Minister Anant Kumar.

Najma Heptulla, the Minority Affairs Minister who had resigned from the Union Cabinet earlier this week, is no more a member of the panel.

In the recent Cabinet reshuffle, Irani was shifted from the HRD Ministry to Textiles.

Javadekar was earlier a special invitee to the committee.

Ravi Shankar Prasad, the new Law Minister, replaces his predecessor D V Sadananda Gowda in the panel.

Rajiv Pratap Rudy, who has been divested of his Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs portfolio, too has been dropped as a special invitee and replaced by S S Ahluwalia who is now the junior minister in the Ministry.

Newly-inducted Minister of State in the Law Ministry P P Chaudhary has also been made a special invitee.

The CCPA, headed by Home Minister Rajnath Singh, is mandated to recommend the dates of Parliament sessions. It has 11 members, including three special invitees.

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, who was elevated as minister of state (independent charge) minority affairs has been included in the CCPA as special invitee. SS Ahluwalia, minister of state for Parliamentary Affairs and PP Chaudhary junior minister for Law were included into this committee as special invitees.

Ram Vilas Paswan is the only leader from the NDA allies to be included in this committee. Other members are Union ministers Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, M Venkaiah Naidu and Ananth Kumar.



Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of