Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Newly elected West Bengal assembly to have 56 Muslim MLAs - 03 less than the last
Thursday May 19, 2016 10:55 PM, News Network

As many as 56 Muslims belonging to the Congress and Trinamool Congress (TMC), and including those who contested on CPI-M tickets, have been elected to the newly formed West Bengal assembly, election commission data released after counting of vote completed today.

Of them, 29 Muslim MLAs have been elected on the Trinamool Congress ticket, 18 Muslims on the Congress Party tickets, 08 Muslims have won as Communist Party of India (Marxist) candidates and 01 Muslim MLA has won the elections on All India Forward Bloc ticket.

The tally is 03 MLAs less than the last assembly. In 2011, a total of 59 Muslim MLAs belonging to the ruling Trinamool Congress Party and opposition political groups were elected to house.

Some of the Muslim MLAs elected to the house as TMC candidates are: Rafiqru Rahman, Abdur Razzak Molla, Rukbanur Rahman, Ghulam Rabbani, Jakir Hussian, Ahmed Javed Khan, Toraf Hussain Mandal, Fazal Karim and former minister Firhad Hakim.

From the Congress side, Abdur Rahim Qazi, Seikh Safizumman, Abdul Mannan, Asif Mehbub, Alberuni Zulkarnain and Md Mutakkin Alam.

Rafikul Islam Mandal, Anisur Rahman Sarkar, Rafikul Islam, Jahan Ara Khan and Amjad Hossain are some MLAs who have won on CPI-M tickets.

Ali Imran Ramz has won the election as All India Forward Bloc candidate.

In the last elections, Mamata had fielded a total of 38 Muslim candidates. In the 2016 state elections, Didi had given tickets to 57 Muslims. Out of them 29 have won the election.

In a high turnout six-phased poll exercise, West Bengal had voted in April to elect news members to the 294-seat Assembly.

Counting of votes began today morning at 08:00 am amid tight security, and final results were out by late in the afternoon.

According to the election commission data, the Trinamool Congress Party (TMC), winning a total of 211 seats, has emerged as the single largest party in the 294-member house.

On the other hand the Congress party has won 44 seats, CPI-M has won 26 seats, the BJP has won 03 seats whereas Independents and others have won 10 seats.


Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of