Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Business & Economy
Cheque Books of banks that merged with SBI to be invalid from December 31

Wednesday December 27, 2017 12:47 PM, News Network

SBI Cheque Book

The cheque books issued by the six banks which had earlier merged with the State Bank of India will be invalid from December 31, 2017, account holders should note and apply for fresh cheque books at their earliest.

The six banks that merged with the SBI are Bhartiya Mahila Bank, State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur (SBBJ), State Bank of Patiala, State Bank of Raipur, State Bank of Hyderabad and State Bank of Travancore.

Hence anyone having accounts in the banks listed above should apply for new cheque books which will come with new IFSC codes.

Five associate banks of SBI and the Bharatiya Mahila Bank were merged with SBI with effect from April 1, 2017. After the merger, cheque books of the erstwhile associate banks and BMB were supposed to have been invalid after September 30, 2017.

The Reserve Bank of India, however, extended the due date for availing new cheque books of the former associates of SBI till December 31, 2017.

How to apply for new cheque books

Bank account holders have a number of options to apply for cheque book from visiting a branch to get the same issued to applying it over the bank's App or getting it dispensed from the ATM.

Earlier the bank has also changed branch name, codes and IFSC codes for several of its branches in major cities including Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Mumbai, Hyderabad and Kolkata amongst others.


Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of