Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Mumbai Municipal Corporation to have 29 Muslim corporators, Thane to have 16

Friday February 24, 2017 8:21 PM, Staff Reporter

Javed Juneja
[New elected Congress corporator Javed Juneja with MLA Amin Patel.]

Mumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) will have a total of 29 Muslim corporators whereas the neighboring Thane civic body (TMC) will have a total of 16. In the recently concluded polls, both the civic bodies have elected majority of Shiv Sena and BJP members.

Among the 29 Muslim corporators elected for the next five-year term in Mumbai, maximum number of Muslim corporators have been elected on Congress ticket followed by Samajwadi Party and two each are from the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Shiv Sena and Asdauddin Owaisi's All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM).

The names of Muslim corporators belonging to the Congress party are Javed Juneja (Ward no. 213), Qamar Jahan Siddiquee (Ward no. 34), Salma Salim Almekar (Ward no. 48), Maher Mohsin Haider (Ward no. 66), Wajid Wahid Qureshi (Ward no. 162), Ashraf Azmi (Ward no. 165), Dilashad Azmi (Ward no. 167), Nazia Ab Jabbar Sufi (Ward no. 78), Asif Ahmed Zakariya (Ward no. 101), Jyoti Haroon Khan (Ward no. 124), Nadia Mohsin Shaikh (Ward no. 140), Sufiyana Niyaz Ah Vanu (Ward no. 179), Babu Khan (Ward no. 184), Reshma Bano Mohd Hashim (Ward no. 188) and Shaikh Aafreen Javed (Ward no. 224).

The Muslims who won the 2017 BMC election as Abu Asim Azmi led Samajwadi Party (SP) are Rais Shaikh (Ward no. 211), Rukhsana Siddiqui (Ward no. 136), Aisha Rafeeque Shaikh (Ward no. 137), Aisha Bano Mohammad Khan (Ward no. 138), Saira Shafat Khan (Ward no. 134) and Akhtar Abdur Razzaq Qureshi (Ward no. 139) total six are from Samajwadi Party (SP).

The Muslim corporators of the NCP are Dr Saeeda Khan (Ward no. 168), and Captan Malik Abdul Rasheed (Ward no. 170) whereas Mohd Halim Shamim Khan (Ward no. 96) and Shaheda Haroon Rasheed Khan (Ward no. 64) are from Shiv Sena, and Shahnawaz Sarfaraz Hussain (Ward no. 145) and Gulnaaz Mohd Salim Qureshi (Ward no. 92) are from the AIMIM.

The last is an Independent Changez Multani who has won the elections from Ward no. 62.

The AIMIM victory in Mumbai is not without loss. The party lost Waqarunnisa Ansari one of its strongest candidates. Corporator for consecutively 03 terms, Waqarunnisa Ansari joined the AIMIM after she was denied ticket by the Congress party.

In 2012 a total of 23 Muslim corporators had won the Mumbai civic elections. Of the total 23 Muslim winners in 2012, 11 were from Congress, 02 from NCP, 06 from Samajwadi Party and 04 were Independents.

The Mumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) have a total of 227 members. Of them 82 are from the BJP, 84 are from the Shiv Sena, 31 are from the Congress, 09 are from the NCP, 07 are from the MNS, 06 are from the SP, 02 are from the AIMIM and the remaining 06 are independents.

Of the tota 16 Muslim corporators who have the Thane Municipal Corporation (TMC) election maximum 13 are from the Jitendra Awhad led Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). They are Najeem Mullah (Panel 10 A), Waheeda Khan (Panel 10 C), Nadera Surme (Panel 29 B), Hasina Shaikh (Panel 30 A), Hafiza Naik (Panel 30 B), Zafar Nomani (Panel 30 C), Siraj Dongre (Panel 30 D), Farzana Shaikh (Panel 32 A), Ishreen Raut (Panel 32 B), Ashraf Shanu Pathan (Panel 32 C), Meraj Naeem Khan (Panel 32 D), Shazia Ansari (Panel 33 A) and Jameela Naseer Khan (Panel 33 D).

The other three are 01 Yaseen Qureshi (Panel 26 C) of Congress, and 02 Shaikh Hajerah (Panel 33 B) and Shah Alam Shahid Azmi (Panel 33 D) from the AIMIM.

The Thane Municipal Corporation (TMC) will have majority of members from the Shiv Sena. The Shiv Sena bagged 67 out of 131 seats of the TMC, followed by NCP with 34, BJP 23, Congress 03 and the Owaisi-led AIMIM 02.


Share this page
More Headlines
Asaduddin Owaisi's men walk in Mumbai, Solapur civic bodies; Counting of votes still on
Haji Halim Khan of Shiv Sena wins 2017 Mumbai civic elections
Rais Shaikh, Akhtar Qureshi of Samajwadi Party win 2017 Mumbai civic elections
Rukhsana Siddiquee and Saira Azmi of Samajwadi Party win Mumbai civic elections
Waqarunnisa Ansari of AIMIM loses 2017 Mumbai civic elections
Owaisi's AIMIM set to open account in Nashik civic body, counting of votes still on
Nagpur NMC Elections 2017: Ruling BJP leads on 19 seats
PMC Elections 2017: BJP leads on 30 seats, set to rule the Pune Civic Body
Nashik NMC Elections 2017: BJP leads on 16 seats, Shiv Sena ahead in 07
Mumbai BMC Elections: Shiv Sena leads on 72 seats; BJP ahead on 40, Congress on 14 seats
SBI ATM dispenses fake Rs 2,000 notes by 'Entertainment Bank of India'
Syrian refugees are 'terrorists', says al Assad; backs Trump's Muslim ban
Amit Shah coins 'Kasab' as the latest acronym to target Cong, SP and BSP
Food-borne bacterium likely to cause miscarriage threat early in pregnancy
Fasting diet could reduce cardiovascular risk factors: Study
Stakes are high for Raj Thackeray's MNS as Nashik gears up for counting of votes Thursday
Why some parties are relieved and others jittery after high voter turnout in Mumbai?
Oscar winners spurn Israel's all-expenses paid luxury tour offer
No plans to roll out new Rs 1,000 notes: Govt
More sustainable energy with new hydronium-ion battery soon
UPSC Civil Services Main 2016 Results: About 3000 shortlisted for interviews to be held in March
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of