Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
Former cricketer Mohsin Raza is Muslim face in Adityanath's 43-member jumbo cabinet

Sunday March 19, 2017 6:26 PM, & Agencies

Mohsin Raza
[Mohsin Raza (L) with Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath in a file photo.]

Yogi Adityanath, Hindutva Mascot and known extremist, Sunday took oath as 32nd Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh in a glittering ceremony attended by senior BJP leaders including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and former state CM Akhilesh Yadav and SP Supremo Mulayam SIngh Yadav.

Along with Adityanath, a 43-member jumbo cabinet also took oath, among them is Mohsin Raza, a former circketer, who had joined the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) saying it is the only party which cares about the common people of the country.

Mohsin Raza has been a very vocal critic of Samajwadi Party founder Mulayam Singh Yadav. Raza has accused Mulayam Singh Yadav of using Muslims for his own political benefits.

Forty-year-old Mohsin Raza studied at the Government Jubilee College then went to Lucknow University for higher studies.

The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) which sweeped the Uttar Pradesh election winning 312 of the total 403 seats had not fielded any Muslim. Talks were therfore on wheater the state government will have a Muslim face or not.

Uttar Pradesh has about 20% Muslim population and has a special Minority Welfare Ministry, which also looks after Haj affairs.

Though the portfolios of the ministers have not been yet announced, it is most likely that Mohsin Raza will be made Minister of State with Independent Charge of Minority Welfare Ministry. Since, Mohsin Raza is not an MLA, he will be most likely elected as MLC.

The hint that a Muslim will be elected as MLC and inducted as minister in the BJP government was first given by Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu.

Keshav Maurya and Dinesh Sharma have taken oath as Deputy Chief Ministers.

Among the Cabinet Ministers who took oath are Swami Prasad Maurya, Satish Mahana, Rajesh Agarwal, Ashutosh Tandon, Chetan Chauhan, Sidharth Nath Singh and former Congress Uttar Pradesh Chief Rita Bahuguna Joshi.

Besides Prime Minister Modi, the ceremony at Lucknow's sprawling Smriti Upvan complex was attended by BJP President Amit Shah, many union ministers and BJP chief ministers from other states as well as party veterans like LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi.

Congratulating Yogi Adityanath, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who had shared stage with him, tweeted, "I have immense confidence that this new team will leave no stone unturned in making UP Uttam Pradesh. There will be record development."

Yogi Adityanath is expected to hold a cabinet meeting after the oath ceremony, and also address the press. Senior party leaders have said the priority for the new government will be placing a ban on all slaughter houses running in the state.

Share this page
More Headlines
'Pink noise' can help oldies sleep their way to better memory
Third time MLA Raziya Sultana is only Muslim legislator in 117-member Punjab Assembly
Pilgrims on Umrah likely to get extended visa, chance to visit other cities in Saudi Arabia
Manohar Parrikar back in Goa as Chief Minister
Manipur: Congress MLA, lone Trinamool Congress legislator join BJP: Himanta Biswa Sarma
Prime Minister Modi asks people to pledge to create 'New India' by 2022
Muslim votes went to BJP, Shaista Amber and Mayawati both believe so, but for different reasons
60-member Manipur Assembly will have 03 Muslim MLAs
BJP majority Uttar Pradesh Assembly to have 24 Muslim MLAs, second fewest in its history
Netherlands detains Turkish minister, forcibly deports her to Germany
End of ‘Kamandal’ vs ‘Mandal’ Politics in Uttar Pradesh
Dr Mohd Ayub of Peace Party loses in Khalilabad; Zafar Alam of SP dislodged in Aligarh
Tasleem Ahmad, Masood Akhtar of SP among winners in Uttar Pradesh
Mohammad Abdullah, 26-yr-old son of SP stalwart Azam Khan, wins 2017 UP elections
Mukhtar Ansari wins from Mau, Haji Ikram Qureshi romps home Moradabad Rural
Imran Masood of Congress loses Nakur seat to BJP by 4,000 votes
Sibgatullah Ansari of BSP loses Mohammadabad seat to BJP in straight fight
Senior SP leader Azam Khan wins Rampur assembly seat by over 45,000 votes
Nahid Hasan of Samajwadi Party defeats BJP candidate in Kairana, Uttar Pradesh
Brijesh Singh of BJP defeats Maviya Ali in Muslim dominated Deoband, Uttar Pradesh

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of