Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Lie & Style
Maggie MacDonnell of Canada wins Dubai's $1 million Global Teacher Prize

Sunday March 19, 2017 9:36 PM, & Agencies

Maggie MacDonnell
Dubai: Maggie MacDonnell - Ikusik School, Canada has won the prestigious $1 million Global Teacher Prize, according to the announcement made by the organisers on Sunday at a spectacular ceremony organised at the Atlantis hotel on The Palm Jumeirah in Dubai.

"Maggie MacDonnell, Canadian school teacher from isolated corner of Quebec, wins a $1 million Global Prize for Teaching Excellence", Astronaut Thomas Pesquet announced at the ceremony.

“I’d like to be the first person in history to thank all the world’s teachers from space", he added.

“Congratulations Maggie. At least once a day, as we orbit the earth, I get a view of the Canadian arctic where you teach. You should see how beautiful it looks from 220 miles up.

"And it’s a place that you’re protecting by teaching the next generation how they can take care of it. Thank you Maggie and to all the world’s teachers. See you all back home", he said.

The Award is given every year to honour the educators around the world who have made an outstanding contribution to their field of profession.

The winner of the Global Teacher Prize, the largest of its kind and is awarded under the patronage of His Highness Shaikh Mohammad Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai.

Every year, Varkey Foundation awards $1 million to one exemplary educator. Dubbed as the “Nobel Prize of teaching,” the prize seeks to recognise the impact of best teachers, not only on their students, but on the communities around them.

Shiekh Mohammad

In a special congratulatory video message broadcast to the ceremony held at the Global Education and Skills Forum (GESF), Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, said: “Maggie MacDonnell – on behalf of all Canadians – from one teacher to another - congratulations on winning the Global Teacher Prize 2017.
The organisers had earlier shortlisted ten teachers from across the world for the award.

Besides the winner Maggie MacDonnell of Canada, nine others are Salima Begum (Elementary College for Women Gilgit, Pakistan), Raymond Chambers (Brooke Weston Academy, United Kingdom), Marie-Christine Ghanbari Jahromi (Gesamtschule Gesche Germany), Tracy-Ann Hall (Jonathan Grant High, Jamaica),

Wemerson de Silva Nogueira (EEEFM Antonio dos Santos Neves, Brazil), Kin Silburn (Casula High School, Australia), Michael Wamava (K.A.G School Kibera, Kenya), David Calle – online, Spain) and Boya Yang (The Affiliated Middle School of Kunming Teachers College, China).

Now in its third year, the US $1 million award is the largest prize of its kind, and was set up to recognize one exceptional teacher who has made an outstanding contribution to the profession as well as to shine a spotlight on the important role teachers play in society.

Share this page
More Headlines
'Pink noise' can help oldies sleep their way to better memory
Third time MLA Raziya Sultana is only Muslim legislator in 117-member Punjab Assembly
Pilgrims on Umrah likely to get extended visa, chance to visit other cities in Saudi Arabia
Manohar Parrikar back in Goa as Chief Minister
Manipur: Congress MLA, lone Trinamool Congress legislator join BJP: Himanta Biswa Sarma
Prime Minister Modi asks people to pledge to create 'New India' by 2022
Muslim votes went to BJP, Shaista Amber and Mayawati both believe so, but for different reasons
60-member Manipur Assembly will have 03 Muslim MLAs
BJP majority Uttar Pradesh Assembly to have 24 Muslim MLAs, second fewest in its history
Netherlands detains Turkish minister, forcibly deports her to Germany
End of ‘Kamandal’ vs ‘Mandal’ Politics in Uttar Pradesh
Dr Mohd Ayub of Peace Party loses in Khalilabad; Zafar Alam of SP dislodged in Aligarh
Tasleem Ahmad, Masood Akhtar of SP among winners in Uttar Pradesh
Mohammad Abdullah, 26-yr-old son of SP stalwart Azam Khan, wins 2017 UP elections
Mukhtar Ansari wins from Mau, Haji Ikram Qureshi romps home Moradabad Rural
Imran Masood of Congress loses Nakur seat to BJP by 4,000 votes
Sibgatullah Ansari of BSP loses Mohammadabad seat to BJP in straight fight
Senior SP leader Azam Khan wins Rampur assembly seat by over 45,000 votes
Nahid Hasan of Samajwadi Party defeats BJP candidate in Kairana, Uttar Pradesh
Brijesh Singh of BJP defeats Maviya Ali in Muslim dominated Deoband, Uttar Pradesh

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of