Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
Maharashtra doctors on mass leave following attack on colleagues

Monday March 20, 2017 1:13 PM, & Agencies

Sion Hopsital

A majority of resident doctors in government hospitals across Mumbai and some parts of Maharashtra have gone on mass leave, starting 8 pm Sunday. The doctors are agitating against the recent spate of attacks on resident doctors in areas such as Dhule, Nashik and Sion.

On Saturday, a doctor was allegedly beaten up by the relatives following a patient's death at the Sion Hospital. Similar incident took place at government hospital in Dhule some days ago.

According to India Today, almost 75 per cent of resident doctors across major Mumbai health centres, including Lokmanya Tilak Municipal General Hospital, KEM Hospital, JJ Hospital and Nair Hospital, have gone on leave.

In a letter to the Dean of Sion Hospital, the resident doctors said they were unable to report to the duty as they couldn't "concentrate" on the work. They stopped working from 7 pm, according to PTI.

"The current spate of attacks on resident doctors is worrisome. We are not able to concentrate, hence we have decided not to report to the duty (at Sion Hospital)....There is urgent need to beef up security at government hospitals," an office-bearer of Maharashtra Association of Resident Doctors said.

Last week a doctor working at Dhule Civil Hospital was allegedly beaten up by the relatives of a patient. Following the protest by doctors, police arrested the 7 to 8 accused allegedly involved in the case. Situation however worsened when one of the accused hanged himself to death in police lock-up.

The Bombay high court has restrained resident doctors in the state from going on a strike till a 'grievance cell' constituted by the government to look into their problems submits its report. The doctors, therefore, can not go on strike officially.

Meanwhile, Medical Education Minister Girish Mahajan said, "The attacks on resident doctors are unfortunate and assailants should not be spared."

Share this page
More Headlines
'Pink noise' can help oldies sleep their way to better memory
Third time MLA Raziya Sultana is only Muslim legislator in 117-member Punjab Assembly
Pilgrims on Umrah likely to get extended visa, chance to visit other cities in Saudi Arabia
Manohar Parrikar back in Goa as Chief Minister
Manipur: Congress MLA, lone Trinamool Congress legislator join BJP: Himanta Biswa Sarma
Prime Minister Modi asks people to pledge to create 'New India' by 2022
Muslim votes went to BJP, Shaista Amber and Mayawati both believe so, but for different reasons
60-member Manipur Assembly will have 03 Muslim MLAs
BJP majority Uttar Pradesh Assembly to have 24 Muslim MLAs, second fewest in its history
Netherlands detains Turkish minister, forcibly deports her to Germany
End of ‘Kamandal’ vs ‘Mandal’ Politics in Uttar Pradesh
Dr Mohd Ayub of Peace Party loses in Khalilabad; Zafar Alam of SP dislodged in Aligarh
Tasleem Ahmad, Masood Akhtar of SP among winners in Uttar Pradesh
Mohammad Abdullah, 26-yr-old son of SP stalwart Azam Khan, wins 2017 UP elections
Mukhtar Ansari wins from Mau, Haji Ikram Qureshi romps home Moradabad Rural
Imran Masood of Congress loses Nakur seat to BJP by 4,000 votes
Sibgatullah Ansari of BSP loses Mohammadabad seat to BJP in straight fight
Senior SP leader Azam Khan wins Rampur assembly seat by over 45,000 votes
Nahid Hasan of Samajwadi Party defeats BJP candidate in Kairana, Uttar Pradesh
Brijesh Singh of BJP defeats Maviya Ali in Muslim dominated Deoband, Uttar Pradesh

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of