Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Life & Style
Kerala Congress MLA Sabarinathan to tie the knot with IAS officer Divya S Iyer

Wednesday May 3, 2017 9:03 PM, & Agencies

Sabarinathan to wed IAS Divya

Kerala Congress MLA from Aruvikkara Constituency, 33-year-old Sabarinathan Wednesday announced on his Facebook page that he was going to tie the knot with IAS officer Divya S Iyer after being in love.

The young Congress MLA, an engineering graduate and MBA, also posted a photo of him and Divya together and sought the blessing from all. IAS Divya is a medical doctor.

Son of late Congress leader and Assembly speaker G Karthikeyan, Sabarinathan said both of them share similar interests and perceptions and their families were happy and supportive of their decision.

The Facebook post, in Malayalam, came with Sabarinathan changing his facebook relationship status to 'committed'.

"For a while now, I have been getting questions from dear ones about my marriage. I would now announce happily that I met sub-collector Dr Divya S Iyer at Thiruvananthapuram.

"We became close and learned that our ideas, interests and perspectives are similar. With the love and blessings of both families, Divya will soon become my partner. We hope for your blessings", he posted.

An elated Divya, now serving as the Sub-Collector in the state capital, said the marriage between a politician and an IAS officer did not have much precedence in the state.

The 2013 batch IAS officer also said she and the MLA had first met for official purposes and their friendship grew later, according to PTI.

The wedding was likely to be held next month, family sources said.

Sabarinathan, who was with Tata Sons in Mumbai for seven years, took the political plunge following the demise of his father.

He had won the Aruvikkara bypoll and became the youngest MLA in the state Assembly in 2015. He later retained the seat in the May 2016 assembly polls with an impressive margin.

Thirtytwo-year-old Divya, who did her MBBS from Vellore Medical College, worked as Assistant Collector at Kottayam before moving to her home district here.

Share this page
More Headlines
School bullies more likely to have cosmetic surgery to achieve social dominance: Study
Andhra Pradesh SSC Class 10 Results 2017 likely to be declared in first week of May
JEE Advanced 2017 registration portal launched, Apply before May 2 to avoid late fee
US scientists grow ‘mini working brains’ in a laboratory
JEE Main 2017: 117 of 137 Rahmani 30 students declared eligible for JEE Advanced
JEE Advanced 2017 online registration begins from Friday, Click here for step by step guide
PM Modi flags off 'Regional Connectivity Scheme for Civil Aviation' from Shimla
JEE Main 2017 results declared at; Click here to know how to check
Chhattisgarh board releases Class 12 results 2017; Here is how to check
Goa Class 12 HSSC 2017 2017 declared at; Here is how to check
Chhattisgarh Class 12 results 2017 declared at; Here is how to check
JEE Main 2017: Kalpit Veerval of Udaipur all India topper, Vrunda Rathi of Nashik first among girls
Asaduddin Owaisi fails to open account in Delhi, AIMIM draws blank for third consecutive election
Here is why Punjab govt orders crackdown on private medical, dental colleges
Risk of obesity influenced by changes in our genes: Study
Mohammad Sadiq of AAP defeats Mohd Qazzafi of Congress in Ballimaran ward of North Delhi
Parveen of Congress defeats Shakila Begum of AAP, Sabra Malik of BJP in Mustafabad
Romesh Gupta of BJP wins, Abdul Hannan of AIMIM, Surender Sharma of Cong defeated in Shastri Park
Shaheen of AAP wins; Rubina Begum of BJP, Neha Fatima of Cong defeated in Quresh Nagar
Wajid Khan of AAP wins; Parvez Alam of Cong, Mohd Arif of AIMIM defeated in Abul Fazal Enclave
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of