Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Malegaon MMC 2017 Election Result: Counting of votes to begin today at 10 am

Friday May 26, 2017 9:39 AM, News Network

Malegaon MMC Election Result
[Union Minister Subhash Bhamre in a rally for BJP candidates in Malegaon. BJP has fielded 27 Muslims in the 2017 Malegaon MMC Election on Friday May 19, 2017]

Counting of votes to elect the new body of 84-member Malegaon Municipal Corporation (MMC) also called as Malegaon Mahanagar Plaika is scheduled to begin today i.e. Friday May 26, 2017 at 10:00 am, an election officer said. The powerloom city in Nashik district went to polls on Wednesday, recording 59.52 per cent voter turnout.

Along with Malegaon, Bhiwandi-Nizampur and Panvel municipal corporations also went to the poll on Wednesday May 24. Counting of votes in all the three civic bodies will start at 10:00 am today, the election officer added.

In Malegaon, the main parties in the fray are the Congress, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) - Janata Dal (S) alliance, All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), Shiv Sena, Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), Samajwadi Party (SP) and a large number of independents.

Malegaon has a total of 21 wards represented each by 04 candidates. The current mayor is Ibrahim Seth belonging to the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

The Congress had emerged as the single largest partyy winning 26 seats in the 2012 elections. The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) won 08 seats, Teesra Mahaz 19, Shiv Sena 11, Bhartia Janata Party (BJP) NONE, MNS 02 and others including independets were 11.

Teesra Mahaz led by former MLA Mufti Ismael later joined the NCP. But, the NCP was split and a faction led by former Mayor Abdul Malik Yunus Isa joined the AIMIM.

Live Update



Share this page
More Headlines
Saudi Arabia, UAE and other Arab states to sight Ramadan 2017 moon today
Death by Kissing Bugs more common than thought: Study
People say no to blood pressure lowering pills, Here is why
CBSE Class 12 results 2017 not to be released today, Click here to know why
At least 22 including children dead in Manchester terrorist attack
'BJP has given tickets to Muslims in Malegaon, but not the "needed support" to win elections'
Meghalaya board SSLC Class X results 2017 to be declared today at 10:00
Meghalaya board HSSLC Arts results 2017 to be declared today at 10:00 am
Army officer who tied civilian to jeep is honoured with COAS Commendation Card
JEE Advanced 2017: Display of ORS on May 31, Release of official Answer Keys on June 04
Haryana HBSE Matric Class 10 SSC results withdrawn after Merit List goof-up
Will incorporate condition in Nikahnama to exclude triple talaq: Muslim panel affidavit in SC
NEET 2017: Madras HC issues notice to CBSE on plea to cancel the medical entrance
Victims and sponsors of terrorism - Trump lists all at Arab Islamic American summit
Meghalaya board SSLC Class X results 2017 to be declared Tuesday May 23
ICSE/ISC Results 2017: Will announce date and time 48 hours prior to declaration: CISCE
Meghalaya board HSSLC Arts results 2017 to be declared Tuesday May 23
Iran funds, arms and trains terrorists, militias and other extremist groups: Trump in Riyadh
Iranian regime represents 'tip of the spear' of global terrorism: King Salman at Riyadh summit
Overwhelming majority of victims of terrorist attacks are Arabs, Muslims: Trump at Riyadh summit
Jharkhand JAC Matric Class 10 results 2017 to be declared on Thursday May 25
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of