Ummid Assistant

Jamia Millia launches courses on China, Afghanistan

IGNOU launches value education programme for teachers

Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » National

Post row over Tytlar nomination Jauhar Award conferred on six

Sunday December 11, 2011 08:00:06 PM, Shafaque Alam

Related Articles

Sanjiv Bhatt, Zafar Agha refused to share award with Tytlar

Responding to an appeal made by more than hundred human rights’ activist, academicians, journalists, filmmakers and students, suspended Gujarat IPS Officer Sanjiv Bhatt and Zafar Agha, renowned journalist, TV anchor and columnist have declined to share an award  »

New Delhi: After much protest, the 23rd Maulana Mohammad Ali Jauhar Award was given to six people Saturday late evening in a function here at India Islamic Culture Centre. The awards were given for outstanding contribution in the field of social service, journalism and literature. The awards are annually given by Maulana Mohammad Ali Jauhar Academy based in New Delhi.

The name of the awardees are: Shahabuddin Yaqoob Quraishi, Chief Election Commissioner, for Social Service; Najeeb Ashraf Choudhury, IRS, Social Service; Haseeb Siddiqui, Chairman Nagar Palika Parishad, Deoband, Social Service; Begum Rehana Undri, Educationalist, Social Welfare, and Urdu Adab; Santosh Bhartiya, Journalism, and Nusrat Gwaliari, Poet, Urdu Adab.

M Saleem, General Secretary of Jauhar Academy, said that in last 22 years, the academy has awarded hundreds of people for their extraordinary works in various fields. According to him, those who were awarded earlier include prominent journalists like Khushwant Singh and Kuldeep Naiyar.

Last week, the award ceremony ran into a big controversy when more than hundred human rights’ activists, academicians, journalists, filmmakers and students made an appeal to the other awardees not share the award with former minister Jagdish Tytlar, an accused in the anti-Sikh pogrom of 1984. Tytler was also selected for the award. Responding to the appeal, IPS Sanjiv Bhatt and noted journalist Zafar Agha refused to accept the award and hence they were not present in the function on Saturday evening.

On Thursday evening Jagdish Tytler also withdrew himself from the award. In a letter to M Saleem, General Secretary of the Academy, he wrote, “I don’t want to embarrass the organizers and the awardees because of any kind of pressure. Hence I have decided that I will not join the award ceremony because I don’t want you and the other awardees to face embarrassment”. Subsequently, Tytler’s name was dropped.

Zafar Agha was replaced by ex-MP and senior Journalist Santosh Bharatiya.


However, M Saleem claimed that Sanjeev Bhatt could not attend the programme due to time constraint and the award may be given to him some other time. While referring to Santosh Bhartiya, being awarded in place of Zafar Agha, M. Saleem said that he has been nominated for the award and nobody has been replaced for the same. The organizer kept totally mum about both Zafar Agha and Jagdish Tytler.

Guests at the function were, WA Nomani, Aziz Burney, Khawaja M Shahid, Mrs Waseem Rashid, Dr Balram Jhaker, Sirajuddin Quraishi, Zafar Ali Naqvi, CP Vyas, Justice MSA Siddiqui and others.









Bookmark and Share

Home | Top of the Page


Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of

Comments powered by DISQUS






Top Stories

Politicians lined up at Jantar Mantar for fasting Hazare

Political leaders Sunday came out strongly in support of Anna Hazare's Lokpal bill at the venue of a daylong fast by the anti-corruption crusader in the heart of the capital.  »

Don't be rigid on Jan Lokpal bill, Bardhan tells civil society

All-party meeting called on Lokpal as Hazare targets Congress


  Most Read

Pakistan takes control of Shamsi airbase as US leaves

Pakistan's defence ministry Sunday took control of the Shamsi airbase as the US vacated the facility after the government ordered this following the NATO strikes that killed 24 Pakistani troops last  »

'Short on funds' AP Govt to pay compensation from Mecca Masjid Acc

In a bizarre move the Andhra Pradesh government has directed to debit the Mecca Masjid and Shahi Masjid Public garden accounts to pay the compensation amount to the Muslim men who  »

Rs.7 million released for Muslim youths wrongly held


  News Pick

Take action against Raje, Kataria: Acquitted men framed in Jaipur blast case

Eleven Muslims, acquitted by a local court of charges of being members of the banned outfit SIMI, December 10 demanded action against authorities, including former Rajasthan chief  »

Indian MPs back idea for UN parliament

Around 40 Indian MPs have backed the proposal for a UN parliamentary assembly that will comprise member nations' legislators and lead eventually to direct election of UN parliament members by citizens worldwide.  »

Rahul Gandhi woos Muslims with quota promise

Congress general secretary Rahul Gandhi Saturday tried to woo Uttar Pradesh's Muslim  »

Ajit Singh joins hands with Congress for Uttar Pradesh polls


Picture of the Day

The Prime Minister, Dr. Manmohan Singh and the Emeritus Senior Minister, Mr. Goh Chok Tong, unveiled the bust and the Marker of Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru, at Asian Civilizations Museum, in Singapore on November 20, 2011.

(Photo: M. Asokan )



RSS  |  Contact us


| Quick links



Subscribe to

Ummid Assistant






About us




Government Schemes










Contact us





    Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.

© 2010 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.