Ummid Assistant

Maharashtra SSC Results: Mumbai tops; girls outshine boys again

Samsung to offer scholarships to IIM-A students

Welcome Guest! You are here: Home Regional

Four more MPs, 16 legislators from Telangana resign

Tuesday July 05, 2011 06:35:00 PM, IANS

Related Articles

Telangana Movement gathers momentum; cabinet meets

The movement for separate statehood to Telangana region of Andhra Pradesh entered a crucial phase Monday with the mass resignations of MPs, state ministers and 

Political storm in Andhra as 73 Telangana legislators quit

Telangana movement set to enter crucial phase

New Delhi/Hyderabad: Four more parliament members and 16 legislators from Andhra Pradesh's Telangana region resigned Tuesday to step up pressure on the central government to carve out a separate state.

Intensifying the movement for a separate state of Telangana, parliament members of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) and the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) have submitted their resignations.

While TRS chief K. Chandrasekhara Rao and his colleague Vijayashanti faxed their resignations to Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, TDP MPs N. Nageswar Rao and Ramesh Rathore tendered their resignations in New Delhi.

With this, the number of MPs who have resigned since Monday has gone up to 14.

KCR, as the TRS chief is popularly known, and Vijayashanti said they would soon visit Delhi to personally meet and request Speaker Meira Kumar to accept their resignations.

Nine Lok Sabha members and one Rajya Sabha member of the Congress party tendered their resignations Monday.

Meanwhile, 16 more members of the assembly, including a minister, have also submitted their resignations the state assembly speaker.

State Minister for Textiles Shankar Rao, who was initially reluctant to quit, faxed his resignation to the speaker from the US.

All 11 members of assembly belonging to the TRS and all four of the Communist Party of India (CPI) have also quit. They handed over their resignations to legislature secretary as both the speaker and the deputy speaker were not available.

With their resignations, the total number of legislators who have quit has gone up to 96. Telangana accounts for 119 members in 294-member assembly.

The members of assembly who have resigned include 40 of the ruling Congress party, all 37 of the TDP, both members of the Praja Rajyam Party (PRP), and three associate members of the Congress.

A total of 82 members of the state assembly, including 11 ministers, had submitted their resignations Monday.

Both legislators of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) are also likely to quit Tuesday evening.

Three members of the legislative council also quit Tuesday. As many as 12 members of the council had submitted their resignations Monday.









  Bookmark and Share

Home | Top of the Page



Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of

Comments powered by DISQUS




Top Stories

Political storm in Andhra as 73 Telangana legislators quit

The Congress government in Andhra Pradesh plunged into crisis Monday with 36 legislators from the party and all 33 from the main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) quitting 

Rebel TDP legislators begin fast for unity on Telangana

Telangana movement set to enter crucial phase


  Most Read

Cash subsidies for cooking gas, kerosene, fertilisers

To plug leakages in the subsidy system, the government will soon provide cash through banks and ATMs directly to the beneficiaries in lieu of subsidies on kerosene, cooking gas and 

Destruction of riot documents: NGO approaches probe panel

An NGO representing some of the victims of 2002 Gujarat riots Monday moved an application before the Nanavati-Mehta judicial inquiry commission probing these cases, seeking various directions on the state government over police documents the state government said had been 


  News Pick

Hindus in Canadian city oppose Muslim prayers at school

Friday namaz at a school in the Toronto suburb of North York has angered Hindu advocacy groups here, who want it stopped. The noon-time prayers for 400 Muslim students of the Valley Park Middle School were introduced 

Rise in Indian students opting for Australia

After two years of tumbling fortunes, the tide seems to be turning in favour of Australian universities, as more and more Indian students are opting to study Down Under. The Australian Immigration 

Iran to launch national internet in August

Iran is all set to launch the first phase of its national internet in August, a minister said. Minister of Communications and Information Technology Reza Taqipour said the pilot and first phases - titled phases "Zero and One"  

Supreme Court appoints SIT to probe black money

The Supreme Court Monday set up a Special Investigation Team (SIT) to probe black money stashed in foreign tax havens by Indian citizens 

Black money: Government to study court order


Picture of the Day

Defence Minister of Mozambique Filipe Jacinto Nyusi laying wreath at Amar Jawan Jyoti, in New Delhi on June 28, 2011.

(Photo: Fulchand)



RSS  |  Contact us


| Quick links



Subscribe to

Ummid Assistant






About us




Government Schemes










Contact us





      Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.

2010 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.