Ummid Assistant

Samsung sets up fund for poor kids' education

US varsity offers doctorate for education professionals

Welcome Guest! You are here: Home Regional

New Uttar Pradesh assembly to have 69 Muslim legislators

Wednesday March 07, 2012 10:54:30 AM, Staff Reporter

Related Articles

SP decimates BSP in Uttar Pradesh, Congress finishes fourth

Riding an anti-incumbency wave, the Samajwadi Party on Tuesday stormed to power in Uttar Pradesh dislodging Mayawati. The SP announced that party chief Mulayam  

Peace Party of India stamps its presence in UP politics with election win

Malegaon: A tactical voting by the Muslim community in Uttar Pradesh elections has not only helped Samajwadi Party (SP) to storm to power, but it also has resulted in the winning of 69 Muslim legislators. Total number of Muslim MLAs in the last assembly was 56.


Most of the 69 Muslim MLAs who won the 2012 assembly elections are from the Samajwadi Party (SP). It has sent 42 Muslim MLAs. Samajwadi Party (SP) has won the assembly elections by winning 224 seats - a tally enough to form the government on its own.


The Uttar Pradesh assembly has a total of 403 seats, and to form a government, a party needs at least 202 seats.


Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP), which was in power in last assembly and lost this elections to SP, has a total of 16 Muslim MLAs out of 80 seats it has won.


The Congress party which is humiliated in the elections, has 04 Muslim MLAs. Cong and its ally RLD has together won a total of 38 seats.


Rest of the Muslim MLAs are from the smaller and little known Muslim parties - some of them formed barely months before the assembly elections.


The surprise winners among these parties are Peace Party of India. The party formed in 2008, has succeeded in winning three Muslim MLAs. Peace Party of India has surprised everyone by winning a seat in Rae Bareli - the parliamentary seat represented by Sonia Gandhi in Lok Sabha.


Ittehad-E-Millat Council has also been able to win one seat - from Bhojipura.


Uttar Pradesh has a strong Muslim presence in the entire states. Some of the constituencies have over 80% Muslim population.












Home | Top of the Page


Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of

Comments powered by DISQUS






Top Stories

SP decimates BSP in Uttar Pradesh, Congress finishes fourth

Riding an anti-incumbency wave, the Samajwadi Party on Tuesday stormed to power in Uttar Pradesh dislodging Mayawati. The SP announced that party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav   

Mulayam Singh Yadav: The Phoenix rises again

Akhilesh steals show in contest of young campaigners


  Most Read

Congress scores hat trick in Manipur

The Congress Tuesday stormed back to power in Manipur by winning 34 of the 50 seats for which results were declared till 4 p.m. Tuesday. The state assembly has 60 seats. Sources in the state election office 

Akali Dal-BJP create history in Punjab

Punjab's ruling Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD)-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance created history in the state's politics as it stunned the Congress Tuesday to retain power for a second consecutive term - the first such instance in the state.  


  News Pick

Uttarakhand: Congress leaders stakes claim to form govt

Even as the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the opposition Congress were locked in a nail-biting seesaw battle as Uttarakhand appeared poised for a hung assembly amid no clear winner in the 70-member house  

Gandhi charisma fading? Congress humbled in Rae Bareli, Amethi

The charisma of the younger Gandhis didn't seem to have worked, even in the 

Assembly results major blow for Congress, Rahul

Chagan Bhujbal lashes out at communal forces

Lashing out at the communal forces, Nashik Guardian Minister Chagan Bhujbal Saturday urged the people to vote for development and give Nationalist Congress  


Picture of the Day

Union Minister for Parliamentary Affairs and Water Resources Pawan Kumar Bansal inspecting the damaged gate number 16 at the Farakka Barrage, Murshidabad district, West Bengal on March 03, 2012. State Minister of Irrigation & Waterways, Micro & Small Scale Enterprises & Textiles, Government of West Bengal Dr. Manas Ranjan Bhunia and State Minister of Development & Planning and Power, Government of West Bengal Manish Gupta are also seen.



RSS  |  Contact us


| Quick links



Subscribe to

Ummid Assistant



Science & Technology



About us




Government Schemes










Contact us




    Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.

2010 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.