Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » International
Three candidates of Rouhani's 18-member cabinet disqualified
Friday August 16, 2013 8:37 AM, IANS

Iran's conservative-dominated parliament Thursday did not give votes of confidence to three candidates of President Hassan Rouhani's 18-member cabinet, Xinhua reported.

Mohammad-Ali Najafi, candidate for education ministry, and Jafar Mili-Monfared, candidate for ministry of science, research and technology, did not receive the approval of Iranian legislators.

This is mainly because they were criticised as being involved in or having sympathy with the defeated candidate of Iran's presidential election in 2009, for whom the conservatives have coined the term "seditionist".

Mir-Hossein Mousavi, an Iranian reformist politician who was defeated in the 2009 presidential election, alleged at the time that the election results were rigged in favour of Mahmoud Ahmadinejad.

Besides, Masoud Soltanifar, candidate for the ministry of sports and the youth, failed to gain vote of confidence from parliament because of his "irrelevant" experience for the post.

On Monday, Iran's parliament (Majlis) started to study the qualifications of the proposed cabinet line-up.

The Iranian president must introduce new nominees for the three posts to parliament within 15 days. To be officially appointed as ministers, the new candidates should also be endorsed by the lawmakers' votes.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.