Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
Dhule Municipal Elections: NCP set to emerge as single largest party
Monday December 16, 2013 2:59 PM, Staff Reporte

The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) is set to emerge as the single largest party in the Dhule Municpal Corporation elections where counting of votes began today morning amid tight security.

Trends obtained by 02:00 pm showed that the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) is leading on 30 seats whereas its rival Shiv-Sena is ahead on 14 seats.

Congress is ahead on 08 seats, BJP on 03, Lok Sangram Party on 01 and inependents are leading on 11 seats.

About sixty-one percent of the total voters exercised their democratic rights on Sunday to elect new body of the 70-member Dhule Municipal Corporation – the important district headquarter of North Maharashtra.

"An estimated 61% people cast their votes Sunday to elect the new civic body. Barring few minor incidents of clashes between rivals, the entire election process was peaceful", Dhule Municipal Commissioner Daulat Khan Pathan said while talking to

He also said that there is an increase of 04-05% as compared to last civic election.

"Compare to the polling percentage of last time when a total of 57% voters had cast their votes, we see an increase of about 04% this year", he said.

Counting of votes will be held tomorrow and final results are expected by afternoon.
"We will begin the counting tomorrow at 09:00 and expect that results start coming by 12:00. The counting of votes is expected to be completed by 03:00 in the afternoon", Pathan said.

Elections in Dhule were held for 35 wards to elect a total of 70 councillors – two each from a ward. There were 348 polling booths, 15 of them were declared sensitive.

A total of 466 candidates are contesting the election for the 70 seats. Of them 67 are from Congress, 63 are from Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and 54 are from Anil Gote led-Lok Sangram Party.

The Shiv-Sena and BJP have formed an alliance and are contesting on 60 seats.
Rest 163 are contesting the election as independent.

Congress has fielded 24 Muslims – a maximum if compared with NCP's 15 and Lok Sangram Party's 11 Muslims. 64 Muslims have also contested the election as independent.

Shiv-Sena and BJP combine has not fielded any Muslim in the election.

In last election, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) had emerged as the single largest party but fell short of the simple majority and had to seek support from the independents to have its mayor in the house.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.