Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
Jalgaon Municipal polls: Khandesh Vikas Aghadi emerges as single largest party
Monday September 2, 2013 7:37 PM, Staff Reporter

Wining 33 seats in a house of 75 - short of just five seats to have its mayor, the ruling Khandesh Vikas Aghadi has emerged as the single largest party in the Jalgaon Municipal Corporation Elections, the election for which were held on Sunday.

Based on the results declared after counting of votes which started under tight security today morning at 10:00, Khandesh Vikas Aghadi has been declared winner in 33 wards whereas Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS), which was fighting the election for the first time, won in 12 wards.

The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), which was led by the opposition leader in the state assembly, Eknath Khadse, could win just 15 seats. Khadse tried hard to defeat the Agahdi, formed by Sureshdada Jain - a former state minister who was arrested in a graft case and is in judicial custody since more than a year, but could not succeed.

In the absence of Surshdada Jain,the Khandesh Vikas Aghadi, was led by his brother Ramesh Jain and contested on all the seats. Jain himself was contesting and won from Ward No 29(B).

The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) had fielded 64 candidates but could win just 11 seats.

The Congress party faced a humiliating defeat as it could not win a single seat. Similarly Samajwadi Party which was contesting on 18 seats and was fighting for the first time, could not win on any.

An estimated 55% of the total voters had exercised their democratic rights in what is claimed as near peaceful elections for the 75 seats of the restructured Jalgaon Municipal Corporation, polling for which ended on Sunday at 05.00 p.m.

A total of 406 candidates were in fray for the 75 seats after 837 nominations were declared valid. On the last day of withdrawal, 205 candidates withdrew from the race.

The BJP had fielded 63 candidates, while the Congress announced 41 candidates, out of which one each withdrew. The Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) had announced 46 candidates, out of which three withdrew.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.