Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » National
Jammu Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah loses in Sonawar
Tuesday December 23, 2014 12:56 PM, News Network

The ruling Jammu Kashmir National Conference, facing drubbing in the 2014 Jammu and Kashmir assembly elections at the hands of the joint slavo from the PDP and BJP, has been humiliated further after its chief minister could not win one of the two seats he contested.

Omar Abdullah

Chief Minister Omar Abdullah who contested from Beerwah and Sonawar, lost the Sonawar constituency. He is however leading in Beerwah with 12,942 votes, election results showed today morning.

Omar has been defeated by Ashraf Mir of the PDP.

"Congratulations to Ashraf Mir for his victory in Sonwar. I wish him & the people all good luck for the next 6 years. He's now my local MLA", Omar tweeted after the results were declared.

Elsewhere in the state, Dr. Hina Bhatt, the daughter of former National Conference MLC Muhammad Shafi Bhatran who ran the high profile BJP campaign in the Kashmir Valley, is trailing PDP's Altaf Bukhari in Amirakadal assembly constituency.

Dr. Bhatt was earlier leading on this Valley seat the BJP was hoping to win.

Though the final results from this seat are yet to be announced Altaf Bukhari is confident of his victory and said the election on this seat is over.

"Result is almost declared," says PDP's Altaf Bukhari who is leading in Amirakadal.

Amirakadal was the seat Yusuf Shah contested in 1987. After the rigged elections, he became Syed Salahuddin, head of the Hizbul Mujahiddin.

Mufti Mohd Sayeed is leading from Anantnag by a whopping 11,531 votes as per the reports coming from the counting centres made available at 12:00 p.m.

Trends also showed that the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is ahead in 32 seats whereas, giving the PDP a close contest, the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is ahead in 25 seats of the total 87 seats in the state where counting began this morning.

Congress and the ruling NC were ahead in just 15 and 13 seats respectivley. While the Congress is close to its last year's tally, the ruling NC shows a loss of 19 seats as compared to the last election.

Most exit polls have predicted a hung assembly in Jammu and Kashmir, the country's only Muslim-majority state.

Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office Jitendra Singh told CNN-IBN that the BJP was "going to make history in Jammu and Kashmir".

A total of 48.29 lakh votes are to be counted.





Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.