Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » National
National Shame: Pepper spray used in Lok Sabha as Telangana bill tabled
Thursday February 13, 2014 1:40 PM, IANS

An Andhra Pradesh parliamentarian, who has been expelled from the Congress, Thursday used pepper spray inside the Lok Sabha when the Telangana bill was tabled.

High drama took place when union Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde rose to table the Telangana bill at noon.

Lagadapati Rajagopal, an MP from Vijaywada, released the pepper spray towards fellow members.

The strong, pungent odour triggered coughing among the parliamentarians who rushed out of the house.

Doctors were called and three MPs were taken to hospital.

TDP member M. Venugopala broke the speaker's mic.

Amidst the chaos, the house was adjourned till 2 p.m. and the house was vacated.

Rajagopal is among the six MPs from Seemandhra who were expelled from the Congress Tuesday.

The expelled MPs had said their goal is to stall tabling of the Telangana bill in parliament.

Congress expelled Sabbam Hari, G.V. Harsha Kumar, V. Arun Kumar, Lagadapati Rajagopal, R. Sambasiva Rao and A. Sai Pratap from the party for giving no-confidence motion notice against the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government in parliament over the Telangana issue.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.