Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Dr Bhamre of Dhule among 54 cleared in BJP's first list for 2014 LS polls
Thursday February 27, 2014 11:43 PM, Staff Reporter

The Bharatiya Janata Party Thursday announced its first list of 54 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections which has a total of sixteen names from Maharashtra, seventeen from West Bengal, three from Himanchal Pradesh, six from Odisha, five from Jammu and Kashmir and two from Arunachal Pradesh.

The prominent names among the sixteen candidates cleared from Maharashtra include Cancer Surgeon Dr Subhash Bhamre nominted from Dhule-Malegaon Lok Sabha sat, former party president Nitin Gadkari who will be contesting from Nagpur and Gopinath Munde from Beed.

Former MP Dr. Kirit Somaiya has also been given the ticket. He will contest the election from Mumbai (North-East) whereas sitting MLA Gopal Shetti has been nominated as the party candidate from Mumbai (North).

The list was announced after a meeting of the party's central election committee.

It includes candidates for Jammu and Kashmir, Arunchal Pradesh, Goa, Manipur, West Bengal, Odisha, Maharashtra and Himachal Pradesh and has several sitting and former parliamentarians.

Former union minister Shanta Kumar has been fielded from Kangra in Himachal Pradesh while Anurag Thakur, president of Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha, has been retained as candidate from Hamirpur.

In Jammu and Kashmir, the BJP fielded state chief Jugal Kishore Sharma from Jammu and state spokesman Jitender Singh from Udhampur.

Other candidates from Jammu and Kashmir include Thunpsthan Chhweang (Ladakh), Mushtaq Ahmad Malik (Anantnag) and G.M. Meer (Baramulla).

The BJP declared 17 candidates from West Bengal, including former lawmaker Tapan Sikadar (Dum Dum), state party president Rahul Sinha (Kolkata Uttar), and magician P.C. Sorcar Jr. (Barasat).

The party fielded former lawmaker Kiren Rijiju from Arunachal West and another former parliamentarian Tapir Gao from Arunachal East.

Shripad Y. Naik was retained from North Goa and Narendra K. Sawaikar has been fielded from South Goa.

In Odisha, the BJP has fielded Jual Oram from Sundargarh and Sangeeta Kumari Singh Deo from Bolangir. The party declared six candidates from Odisha.

The party retained Virender Kashyap as its candidate from Shimla.

Following is the full first list of candidates released by the BJP:

Arunachal Pradesh
Arunachal WestShri Kiren Rijijuji, Ex-MP, Arunachal EastShri Tapir Gao, Ex-MP Manipur, Inner ManipurDr. R.K. Ranjan Singh and Outer Manipur (ST)Prof. Gangmumei Kamei

North GoaShri Shripad Yesso Naik, Sitting MP, South GoaShri Narendra Keshav Sawaikar, State General Secretary

West Bengal
Cooch Behar (SC)Shri Hemchandra Burman, District President, Jalpaiguri (SC)Shri Satyalal Sarkar, Ex-DIG, SSB, BalurghatShri Biswapriya Roychowdhary, State General Secretary, Maldaha UttarShri Subashkrishna Goswami, Elected Block Member, JangipurShri Samrat Ghosh, District General Secretary, MurshidabadShri Sujit Kumar Ghosh, Retd. IPS, KrishnanagarShri Satyabrata Mukherjee, Ex-MP & Central Minister, Ranaghat (SC)Dr. Supravat Biswas, National Executive Member, Dum Dum Shri Tapan Sikdar, Ex-MP & Central Minister, Barasat Shri P.C. Sorcar (Jr.), World Famous Magician, Mathurapur (SC)Shri Tapan Naskar, District General Secretary, Diamond HarbourShri Avijit Das, State BJYM Member, Kolkata DakshinShri Tathagata Roy, Ex State President, Kolkata UttarShri Rahul Sinha, State President, Howrah Shri George Baker, Film Actor (Christian Minority), UluberiaShri R.K. Mahanti, Retd. IPS, Bankura Dr. Subash Sarkar, State Vice President

Sundargarh (ST)Shri Jual Oram, Former Minister, SambalpurShri Suresh Pujari, State Gen. Secy., and Ex-State President, DhenkanalShri Rudra Narayan Pani, Ex-MP (Rajya Sabha), BolangirSmt. Sangeeta Kumari Singh Deo, Ex-MP, Nabarangpur (ST)Shri Parsuram Majhi, State Vice President and Ex-MP, Jagatsinghpur (SC)Shri Baidhar Mallik, Ex-MLA

Dhule Dr. Subhash Bhamre, Famous Cancer Surgeon, Jalgaon Shri Ashok Tapiram Patil, (A.T. Nana Patil), Sitting MP, Raver Shri Haribhau Javle, Sitting MP, Akola Shri Sanjya Dhotre, Sitting MP, Nagpur Shri Nitin Gadkari, Ex-National President, Bhandara - GondiyaShri Nana Patole, Sitting MLA, Gadchiroli-Chimur (ST)Shri Ashok Nete, State President, ST Morcha, ChandrapurShri Hansraj Ahir, Sitting MP, Nanded Shri D.B. Patil, Ex-MP, Jalna Shri Ravsaheb Danve Patil, Sitting MP, Dindori (ST)Shri Harishchandra Chowhan, Sitting MP, Palghar (ST)Ad. Chintaman Vanga, Sitting MLA & Ex-MP, Mumbai NorthShri Gopal Shetti, Sitting MLA, Mumbai North East Dr. Kirit Somaiya, Ex-MP, AhmadnagarShri Dilip Gandhi, Sitting MP, Beed Shri Gopinath Munde, Dy. Leader of Opposition, Lok Sabha, Sangli Shri Sanjaykaka Patil, Ex-MLA

Himachal Pradesh
KangraShri Shanta Kumar, Ex-CM and Ex-Minister, HamirpurShri Anurag Thakur, Sitting MP and National President BJYM, Shimla (SC)Shri Virendra Kashyap, Sitting MP

Jammu and Kashmir
BaramullaShri Gulam Mohammad Meer, AnantnagMushtaq Ahmad Malik, Nurabadi, LadakhShri Thunpsthan Chhewang, National Executive Member, UdhampurDr. Jitendra Singh, National Executive Member & State Spokesperson, JammuShri Jugal Kishore Sharma, State President


Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.