Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Polling underway in Seemandhra amid sporadic clashes
Wednesday May 7, 2014 10:48 AM, IANS

Polling is underway Wednesday for 25 Lok Sabha and 175 assembly seats in Seemandhra amid sporadic clashes between activists of rival parties, officials said.

Long queues were seen since early morning at many polling stations in 13 districts.

Technical snag in Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) delayed start of the polling at few places. Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwarlal said the faulty EVMs were replaced within few minutes.

About 10 percent votes were polled in the first two hours at 40,709 polling stations.

Tension prevailed at some polling stations in Kadapa, Anantapur, Chittoor and Guntur districts due to clashes between activists of the YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) and the Telugu Desam Party (TDP).

About 36.76 million people are eligible to vote in the second phase which will cover nine districts in coastal Andhra and four in Rayalaseema.

Seemandhra, as the two regions are together called, will come into being as separate state of Andhra Pradesh June 2 with the formation of Telangana region as a separate state.

As many as 335 candidates are in the fray for the Lok Sabha elections while 2,241 contestants are testing their political fortunes in the assembly polls.

Polling, which began at 7 a.m., will conclude at 4 p.m. in two Maoist affected assembly constituencies and at 5 p.m. in eight segments. In the remaining 165 constituencies, the polling will end at 6 p.m.

Over 100,000 police personnel and 272 companies of central paramilitary forces have been deployed as part of the massive security arrangements.

The poll officials are keeping a tight vigil in certain pockets of Rayalaseema and coastal Andhra notorious for electoral malpractices.

The most prominent among the contestants for Lok Sabha elections are cabinet ministers and Congress leaders Kishore Chandra Deo (Araku) and Pallam Raju (Kakinada), YSR Congress honorary president Y.S. Vijayamma (Visakhapatnam) and former central minister D. Purandeswari of BJP (Rajampet).

In the assembly polls for Seemandhra region, chief ministerial hopeful and Telugu Desam Party state president N. Chandrababu Naidu is contesting from Kuppam assembly constituency.

Another chief ministerial aspirant and YSR Congress president Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy is fighting his first ever assembly election from the family stronghold Pulivendula.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.