Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
BJP wins six, Congress three in Gujarat
Tuesday September 16, 2014 5:39 PM, IANS

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Tuesday won six assembly seats, while the Congress won three in Gujarat. The ruling BJP also won the Vadodara Lok Sabha Sabha by over 300,000 votes.

Bypolls for nine assembly seats - Maninagar, Deesa, Tankara, Khambhalia, Mangrol, Talaja, Anand, Matar and Limkheda, and one parliamentary seat - Vadodara were held Sep 13.

On Tuesday, the Congress won three assembly seats - Deesa, Khambhalia and Mangrol, by a notable margin. It thanked the people for its victory.

The remaining six assembly seats, including the Maninagar seat which was vacated by then chief minister Narendra Modi, were won by the BJP.

Vadodara was retained by the BJP after Deputy Mayor Ranjanben Bhatt won against Congress candidate Narendra Rawat by over 300,000 votes.

The seat was vacated by Modi after he was elected to parliament from two places, including Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh.

During the general elections, Modi had won this seat by over 500,000 votes.

Modi became the prime minister on May 26.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.