Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Education & Career
ABVP's clean sweep in DU Students' Union polls
Saturday September 13, 2014 8:14 PM, IANS

The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) Saturday made a clean sweep in the Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) election and credited their win to the fight against the controversial four-year undergraduate programme.

ABVP DU polls

The candidates of the ABVP - the student wing of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), bagged the posts of president, vice president, secretary and joint secretary.

This victory has come after almost 18 years when they had last swept the DUSU polls in 1997.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah congratulated the student organisation for the thumping win.

"I congratulate ABVP for winning all four panels in DUSU elections. The students and karyakartas of DU deserve the credit," Shah said in a tweet.

Delhi BJP chief Satish Upadhyay thanked the students of Delhi University for their unprecedented support to ABVP.

The ABVP also credited the "(Narendra) Modi wave" for the win.

"We can always credit Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the win, as he helped us greatly to roll back the four-year undergraduate programme," Rohit Chahal, ABVP national president, told IANS.

National Students' Union of India (NSUI), the student wing of the Congress, came second in all four posts followed by the left-wing All India Students' Association (AISA).

Last year too, ABVP had won three posts but lost the secretary's post to the NSUI.

Mohit Nagar won the post of president securing 20,718 votes and beat NSUI's Gaurav Tushir by a margin of 914 votes.

After his win, Nagar said: "I am really happy. Students chose us because we tirelessly fought against the controversial four-year programme and got it removed."

Parvesh Malik won the vice president's post, securing 21,935 votes as against NSUI's Mona Chaudhary who got 14,076 votes.

Kanika Shekhawat won the secretary's post by netting 18,617 votes, beating the NSUI candidate Ameet Sidhu Teema by a margin of 2,717 votes.

"As I am a woman, I am going to work towards making the campus safe for women and increase bus facilities," an exhilarated Shekhawat said.

ABVP's joint secretary candidate Aashutosh Mathur won by the widest margin of 11,068 votes against Abhishek Chaudhary of NSUI. Mathur secured a maximum of 23,133 votes among all the winning candidates.

The vote share of AISA has also increased.

In total, 227,614 votes were polled from the 50 colleges affiliated with DUSU.

Following the spectacular win, the winning candidates were showered with rose and marigold garlands. The supporters danced to drum beats, burst crackers and took out a march amid tight security by the Delhi Police.

The winners said they will work for hostel accommodation, compact campuses and newer bus services for all the colleges of the university.

However, the campuses are still littered with graffiti and paper pamphlets.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.