Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
Sena in charge but Owaisi's MIM set to replace Cong-NCP in Aurangabad civic body
Thursday April 23, 2015 6:23 PM, News Network

Aurangabad: : The election results of the Aurangabad Municipal Corporation clearly showed that the Muslim and Dalit voters have once again rejected the Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), and have chosen the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) led by Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi, as the most preferred party.

[MIM Chief Asaduddin Owaisi with Aurangabad (Central) MLA Imtiyaz Jaleel in a file photo.]

The trends available till 03:30 p.m. - i.e. after over three hours of counting of votes for the Aurangabad Municipal Corporation elections which began at ten different centres Thursday morning, showed the MIM leading in 25 wards.

The Congress and NCP on the other hand are leading in just 07 ad 03 seats respectively. Overall, however, the Shiv Sena-BJP alliance is leading in 57 wards, according to the trends available till 01:30 p.m.

The counting is still underway and the final results are expected in few hours time.

Aurangabad has 113 wards, but two Shiv Sena candidates -- in wards 100 and 103 -- had already been elected unopposed.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM), which won two seats - one each in Aurangabad and Mumbai, in the last state election, is contesting on 54 seats in Aurangabad, and is confident of victory in Muslim majority areas.

"We were in the fray in Aurangabad and the result will prove how Muslim voters have accepted us an alternative," MIM MLA Imtiaz Jaleel said, adding that he hoped for a big victory.

State BJP chief Raosaheb Danve, on the other hand, said that BJP- Shiv Sena alliance will win in Aurangabad. The Congress too is confident that the party will be able to dislodge Sena from the civic body in Aurangabad.

In Aurangabad, a total of 8,95,940 voters (Male-4,30,635, female- 3,85,305) cast votes. There were minor incidents of stone-pelting and scuffles.

Election to elect the new body were held in Navi Mumbai and Aurangabad on Wednesday. Sena is in power in Aurangabad for the last 30 years whereas Navi Mumbai, a satellite town of Mumbai, is known to be a stronghold of NCP leader Ganesh Naik.

Shiv Sena and BJP contested in an alliance in both municipal corporations while the Congress and NCP contested separately.

The ruling Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) is leading in 32 of the Navi Mumbai municipal wards of the total 111 wards where counting of votes began today morning amid tight security, according to the trends till 12: pm.

The NCP has also won the election in Ward No. 10. Here Shahikala Sutar of the ruling party has won the election by about 600 votes.

The NCP led by Ganesh Naik is ruling the Navi Mumbai civic body since last 20 years.

Trends available till 12:00 pm, one hour after the counting began, showed that the Congress is leading in 06 wards, Shiv Sena leading in 08 wards whereas the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in just 05 wards.

About 51 percent of voters exercised their votes to elect 111 members of Navi Mumbai Municipal Corporation, whereas 65 per cent voters turned up to elect 111 members of Aurangabad Municipal Corporation in the elections held Wednesday.

Elsewhere, the voting percentages in civic polls were as follows: Ambernath municipal council: 48.81 percent, Kulgaon-Badlapur municipal council: 59 percent, Rajgurunagar (Pune): 72 per cent, Varangaon (Jalgaon): 77.23 per cent, Bhokar (Nanded): 74.4 per cent, Movad (Nagpur): 87.90 per cent and Wadi (Nagpur) municipal council: 62.3 per cent.

Of the 2,827 gram panchayats where elections were held, 387 panchayats were elected unopposed.

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of