Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
Ruling NCP leads in Navi Mumbai municipal elections
Thursday April 23, 2015 3:35 PM, News Network

Mumbai: The ruling Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) is leading in 48 of the Navi Mumbai municipal wards of the total 111 wards where counting of votes began today morning amid tight security, according to the trends till 03:00 pm.

Besides leading in 48 wards, the NCP has also won the election in Ward No. 10. Here, Shahikala Sutar of the ruling party has won the election by about 600 votes.

The NCP led by Ganesh Naik is ruling the Navi Mumbai civic body since last 20 years.

Trends available till 03:00 pm, five hours after the counting began, showed that the Congress is leading in 10 wards, Shiv Sena leading in 30 wards whereas the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in 12 wards.

Election to elect the new body were held in Navi Mumbai and Aurangabad on Wednesday.

About 51 percent of voters exercised their votes to elect 111 members of Navi Mumbai Municipal Corporation, whereas 65 per cent voters turned up to elect 111 members of Aurangabad Municipal Corporation in the elections held Wednesday.

Aurangabad has 113 wards, however two Shiv Sena candidates -- in wards 100 and 103 -- had already been elected unopposed.

Shiv Sena and BJP contested in an alliance in both municipal corporations while the Congress and NCP contested separately.

Sena is in power in Aurangabad for the last 30 years whereas Navi Mumbai, a satellite town of Mumbai, is known to be a stronghold of NCP leader Ganesh Naik.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM), which won on one seat in the last state election, is contesting on 54 seats, and is confident of victory in Muslim majority areas.

"We were in the fray in Aurangabad and the result will prove how Muslim voters have accepted us an alternative," MIM MLA Imtiaz Jaleel said, adding that he hoped for a big victory.

State BJP chief Raosaheb Danve however said that BJP- Shiv Sena alliance will win in Aurangabad. However, the Congress too is confident that the party will be able to dislodge Sena from the civic body in Aurangabad.

In Aurangabad, a total of 8,95,940 voters (Male-4,30,635, female- 3,85,305) cast votes. There were minor incidents of stone-pelting and scuffles.

Elsewhere, the voting percentages in civic polls were as follows: Ambernath municipal council: 48.81 percent, Kulgaon-Badlapur municipal council: 59 percent, Rajgurunagar (Pune): 72 per cent, Varangaon (Jalgaon): 77.23 per cent, Bhokar (Nanded): 74.4 per cent, Movad (Nagpur): 87.90 per cent and Wadi (Nagpur) municipal council: 62.3 per cent.

Of the 2,827 gram panchayats where elections were held, 387 panchayats were elected unopposed.

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of